Hubert completes Van Amersfoort line-up

Formula Renault driver Anthoine Hubert will move to European Formula 3 for 2016, having been announced as Van Amersfoort Racing's fourth signing.

Hubert completes Van Amersfoort line-up
Anthoine Hubert
Podium: winner Ben Barnicoat, second place Anthoine Hubert, third place Ignazio D'Agosto
Max Verstappen
Charles Leclerc, Van Amersfoort Racing Dallara Volkswagen
Alessio Lorandi, Van Amersfoort Racing Dallara Volkswagen
Charles Leclerc, Van Amersfoort Racing Dallara Volkswagen
Arjun Maini, Van Amersfoort Racing Dallara Volkswagen
Listen to this article

Hubert, 19, won the French F4 title in 2013 and was part of Tech 1 Racing's Formula Renault 2.0 set-up for the last two seasons.

In 2015, he finished fifth in the Eurocup series and won four of his six races in the Alps championship, finishing runner-up in the other two.

“We were following the progress of Anthoine for quite some time," said Frits van Amersfoort.

“We became more and more impressed by his skills and results - especially after his clean sweep with two pole positions and two victories on the challenging streets of Pau during a guest appearance in Formula Renault Alps.

"We decided to invite Anthoine for a test in our simulator and he did a very solid job. We are very happy to add him to our 2016 F3 squad. Anthoine is the sort of driver who could become one of the big surprises."

The Frenchman makes up an all-new line-up at Dutch team VAR, which has expanded from three cars to four and will also field fellow newcomers Pedro Piquet and Harrison Newey, as well as sophomore driver Callum Ilott.

VAR has found considerable success in fielding Formula 3 rookies over the past two campaigns, with Max Verstappen delivering 10 wins in 2014 and Charles Leclerc adding four victories last year.

“I followed the results of Van Amersfoort Racing F3 for many years and I must say I was impressed by their recent results with the rookies Max Verstappen and Charles Leclerc," Hubert said.

"I am obviously very motivated and excited to join this legendary team of F3 and I want to thank all the staff for giving me confidence. And now: let's get to work!"

2016 European F3 line-up so far:

Team Drivers
Prema Powerteam

 Lance Stroll

 Ralf Aron

 Maximilian Gunther

 Nick Cassidy

Van Amersfoort Racing

 Pedro Piquet

 Callum Ilott

 Harrison Newey

 Anthoine Hubert


 Ryan Tveter

 Alessio Lorandi

 Peter Li Zhi Cong

Mucke Motorsport

 David Beckmann

 Mikkel Jensen


 Niko Kari

 Sergio Sette Camara

 Joel Eriksson

 Guan Yu Zhou

Hitech GP

 George Russell

 Nikita Mazepin

 Ben Barnicoat

T-Sport  Arjun Maini

New Prema F3 recruit Aron targets rookie title

European F3 confirms 24-car grid for 2016