Giovinazzi beats Rosenqvist to win wet Hockenheim opener

Antonio Giovinazzi took his first victory of the European Formula 3 season after beating Felix Rosenqvist in a rain-soaked opening race of the weekend at Hockenheim.

Giovinazzi beats Rosenqvist to win wet Hockenheim opener
Antonio Giovinazzi, Jagonya Ayam with Carlin, Dallara F312
Felix Rosenqvist, Prema Powerteam, Dallara F312
Antonio Giovinazzi, Jagonya Ayam with Carlin
Charles Leclerc, Van Amersfoort Racing, Dallara F312

The decisive move came on the first lap of a race punctuated by no fewer than three safety car periods in the torrential conditions, as Giovinazzi made his move around the outside of polesitter Rosenqvist at the Spitzkehre hairpin.

From there, the Carlin driver was able to keep Rosenqvist at arm’s lengths, surviving two attacks by the Swede after the first two caution periods – the first caused by Pietro Fittipaldi ending up in the gravel and the second brought about by a collision between Nicolas Beer and Tatiana Calderon.

The third safety car period occurred in the closing minutes of the race when Raoul Hyman’s car needed recovering from the gravel, effectively sealing Giovinazzi’s victory as the race did not subsequently resume.

Charles Leclerc completed the podium after passing a fast-starting Jake Dennis at the hairpin on the opening tour, but the Monegasque was never really in a position to threaten the leading duo.

Dennis came home fourth, having briefly held third after a sensational outside move at the second corner on the first lap, ahead of Maximilian Gunther, who slipped from third on the grid at the start, Lance Stroll, Markus Pommer and Mikkel Jensen.

Having suffered a 10-place grid drop for exiting the pits during a red light, Red Bull junior Callum Ilott fought his way from 19th to 13th, one place ahead of an impressive Alex Albon, who started at the very rear of the field.

Race one results:

Pos Driver Time/Gap
Antonio Giovinazzi 35m33.962
Felix Rosenqvist 0.228
Charles Leclerc 0.793
Jake Dennis 2.419
Maximilian Gunther 2.518
Lance Stroll 3.973
Markus Pommer 5.697
Mikkel Jensen 6.635
Brandon Maïsano 7.616
10  Gustavo Menezes 8.769
11  Santino Ferrucci 10.287
12  George Russell 10.488
13  Callum Ilott 10.666
14  Alexander Albon 12.069
15  Matt Rao 13.633
16  Arjun Maini 14.192
17  Fabian Schiller 14.873
18  Sergio Sette Camara 18.998
19  Martin Cao 19.917
20  Sam MacLeod 20.763
21  Dorian Boccolacci 21.806
22  Matthew Solomon 22.681
23  Nabil Jeffri 23.952
24  Michele Beretta 24.195
25  Mahaveer Raghunathan 24.923
26  Zhi Cong Li 1 Lap
Raoul Hyman  
Kang Ling  
Ryan Tveter  
Nicolas Beer  
Tatiana Calderon  
Alessio Lorandi  
Pietro Fittipaldi  
Nicolas Pohler  
Julio Moreno
Rosenqvist completes pole sweep at Hockenheim

Previous article

Rosenqvist completes pole sweep at Hockenheim

Next article

Rosenqvist takes imperious Hockenheim victory

Rosenqvist takes imperious Hockenheim victory
Load comments