Vergne, de Silvestro named as Andretti Formula E drivers

The Andretti Formula E team has submitted Simona de Silvestro and Jean-Eric Vergne as its drivers for season two of the all-electric series.

Should it be confirmed, the continuation of Vergne’s programme with Andretti will be seen as a big coup for the team, as the former Toro Rosso F1 driver was known to be in discussions with at least two other Formula E squads this summer.

It is understood that, should Vergne succeed in landing a seat with Gene Haas' new F1 team for 2016, the Frenchman would be free to depart the Andretti team, but would likely undertake the first three races of the Formula E series in Beijing, Putrajaya and Punta Del Este.

Vergne is among a pool of drivers believed to be in with a chance of racing for Haas next season – along with Esteban Gutierrez, Romain Grosjean, Nico Hulkenberg and Adrian Sutil.

De Silvestro competed in her first Formula E race weekend in June's season one finale at Battersea Park, and is slated to drive the No.28 Andretti ATEC-01 car, while Vergne will race the No.27 machine.

The season two Andretti test car was shaken down in the UK last Friday and key technical staff from TE Connectivity and Houston Mechatronics, who have delivered key aspects of the new powertrain, attended the test.

The companies have been pulled together to work with the newly formed Andretti Technologies technology arm of the Andretti group.

Andretti is set to make several announcements in the coming week regarding its season two program.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula E
Drivers Simona de Silvestro , Jean-Eric Vergne
Teams Andretti Autosport
Article type Breaking news