Sarrazin tops first practice at Battersea Park

Stephane Sarrazin made a last-minute surge to the top of the timesheets to end the first practice session for the London ePrix quickest.

The 45-minute session was red-flagged with around 18 minutes remaining when Jerome D’Ambrosio broke his suspension on one of the bumps around the tight and narrow Battersea Park circuit.

Just five minutes remained when proceedings got back under way, with championship leader Nelson Piquet Jr having set the quickest time of the session, 1m29.514s, up until that point.

The Brazilian would nonetheless find himself shuffled down to sixth place amid a late flurry of improvements, with bitter rival Lucas di Grassi the first to knock Piquet off the top spot with a 1m29.006s.

That was followed up by a 1m27.125s for Sam Bird, and the by a 1m26.450s for Venturi driver Sarrazin, who ended the session with a buffer of 0.675s over the Brit at the top of the leaderboard.

Di Grassi’s time was good enough for third, ahead of another late improver in the form of Jean-Eric Vergne and Daniel Abt in the second of the Audi Sport Abt machines.

Behind Piquet, D’Ambrosio’s remained seventh despite his earlier problems, with the top 10 being rounded out by Sebastien Buemi, Karun Chandhok and Nicolas Prost.

Elsewhere, Salvador Duran, 16th quickest for the embattled Amlin Aguri squad, caused a yellow flag when he ran into the barriers just prior to the red flags, while a loose bollard in the closing stages also briefly brought out the yellows.

Formula E debutant Fabio Leimer also hit the wall at the final turn, necessitating a change of front-right wishbone by his Virgin team.

Practice times:

Pos Driver Team Time Gap
Stephane Sarrazin VENTURI Formula E Team 1'26.450  
Sam Bird Virgin Racing Formula E Team 1'27.125 0.675
Lucas di Grassi Audi Sport ABT Formula E Team 1'29.006 2.556
Jean-Eric Vergne Andretti Autosport Formula E Team 1'29.163 2.713
Daniel Abt Audi Sport ABT Formula E Team 1'29.368 2.918
Nelson Piquet Jr. China Racing Formula E Team 1'29.514 3.064
Jerome D'Ambrosio Dragon Racing Formula E Team 1'29.588 3.138
Sebastien Buemi Team e.dams Renault 1'29.684 3.234
Karun Chandhok Mahindra Racing Formula E Team 1'30.148 3.698
10  Nicolas Prost Team e.dams Renault 1'30.225 3.775
11  Oliver Turvey China Racing Formula E Team 1'30.559 4.109
12  Fabio Leimer Virgin Racing Formula E Team 1'30.932 4.482
13  Nick Heidfeld VENTURI Formula E Team 1'30.984 4.534
14  Simona de Silvestro Andretti Autosport Formula E Team 1'31.222 4.772
15  Loic Duval Dragon Racing Formula E Team 1'31.272 4.822
16  Salvador Duran Amlin Aguri 1'31.550 5.100
17  Bruno Senna Mahindra Racing Formula E Team 1'31.658 5.208
18  Jarno Trulli Trulli Formula E Team 1'32.380 5.930
19  Sakon Yamamoto Amlin Aguri 1'33.558 7.108
20  Alex Fontana Trulli Formula E Team 1'33.912 7.462
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula E
Event London ePrix
Track Streets of London
Drivers Stéphane Sarrazin , Nelson Piquet Jr. , Lucas di Grassi , Sam Bird , Jean-Eric Vergne
Teams Venturi
Article type Practice report