Sam Bird dominates Putrajaya ePrix

Virgin Racing and Sam Bird have won the second round of the season in Malaysia.

The new fully electric racing series has seen two winners in two races as Sam Bird takes the checkered flag in Malaysia. 

Daniel Abt started the race from third, but didn't get going very well and dropped to the rear. The two girls in the event collided when Katherine Legge lost control on braking, turning Michela Cerruti in the process. Then, Matthew Brabham spun as he raced down into the chicane, slamming into the side pod of Nick Heidfeld, who seemed to escape the contact unscathed. All this took place on the opening lap, prompting a safety car.

Sam Bird took over the lead on the ensuing restart. He pulled away until the eighth lap when Franck Montagny squeezed Nick Heidfeld into the tire barrier at turn five, igniting another full-course yellow.

The race resumed on lap 13 and the safety car was not needed for the remainder of the event. Daniel Abt switched cars very early in the going and therefore, was leading the race with less than ten laps remaining. He was running low on power though and was forced to crawl at a snail's pace in order to make it to the finish.

He lost the lead to Sam Bird with five laps to go, falling all the way down to 10th before the checkered flag. Whilw attacking Buemi for the final spot on the podium, Bruno Senna lost the rear and slammed the wall on the final lap of the race, dropping him to 14th.

Lucas di Grassi maintains the championship lead with a runner-up finish, followed by Sebastian Buemi in third place.

Race Results

1. Sam Bird

2. Lucas di Grassi

3. Sebastien Buemi

4. Nico Prost

5. Jerome d'Ambrosio

6. Karun Chandhok

7. Oriol Servia

8. Antonio Felix da Costa

9. Jaime Alguersuari

10. Daniel Abt

11. Ho-Pin Tung

12. Stephane Sarrazin

13. Matthew Brabham

14. Bruno Senna

15. Franck Montagny

16. Kathrine Legge

17. Jarno Trulli

18. Nelson Piquet Jr.

19. Nick Heidfeld

20. Michela Cerruti


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula E
Event Putrajaya ePrix
Track Streets of Putrajaya
Drivers Jarno Trulli , Nick Heidfeld , Franck Montagny , Oriol Servia , Stéphane Sarrazin , Nelson Piquet Jr. , Katherine Legge , Karun Chandhok , Ho-Pin Tung , Lucas di Grassi , Bruno Senna , Jérôme d'Ambrosio , Sam Bird , Sébastien Buemi , Jaime Alguersuari , Antonio Felix da Costa , Michela Cerruti , Daniel Abt , Matt Brabham
Teams Virgin Racing , Trulli
Article type Race report
Tags virgin racing