Nicolas Prost earns pole for inaugural Beijing ePrix

Prost will share the front row with Lucas di Grassi.

With a lap time of 1:42.200, e.dams' Nicolas Prost made history, claiming the first pole in Formula E history. In doing so, he also earns three championship points. He was .106 tenths quicker than ABT's Lucas di Grassi.

The second row will be made up of Daniel Abt and Karun Chandhok. The third row is filled by Franck Montagny and Nick Heidfeld. Row four will consist of Jaime Alguersuari and Charles Pic. The final two drivers inside the top ten are Nelson Piquet Jr and Oriol Servia (Buemi was ninth, but faces a ten spot grid penalty).

Three drivers (Bruno Senna, Jarno Trulli, and Stephane Sarrazin) failed to complete a lap and will bring up the rear. Senna, along with di Grassi and Katherine Legge, have won the FanBoost for this race.

Group One

Dramas quickly took place as qualifying got underway. Sarrazin pulled off with issues and was quickly followed by Trulli, who tagged the turn eight wall with the left rear and damaged his rear wing. Neither driver were able to post a time. That corner has proven to be the big trouble spot this weekend and will be one to watch. Karun Chandhok took the early advantage.

Group Two

None of the five drivers in Group Two could match Chandhok and the closest (Charles Pic), was still two and a half tenths off.

Group Three

Nicolas Prost and Lucas di Grassi rocketed to the top, rapidly dropping Chandhok down the charts. In the closing moments, Prost was pushing to improve his time and had a lock up, causing him to crash nose-first into a barrier. The damage was minimal. Simultaneously, his teammate Sebastien Buemi stopped on track after slapping the notorious turn eight wall, damaging his machine as well.

Group Four

Rumblings through the paddock were that we'd see a showdown that would send chills through race fans ... A battle between Prost and Senna. Unfortunately, issues precluded Senna, who led FP2, from having any shot at Prost's pole time. 

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula E
Event Beijing ePrix
Track Streets of Beijing
Drivers Jarno Trulli , Nick Heidfeld , Franck Montagny , Oriol Servia , Stéphane Sarrazin , Nelson Piquet , Katherine Legge , Karun Chandhok , Lucas di Grassi , Bruno Senna , Sébastien Buemi , Nicolas Prost , Charles Pic , Jaime Alguersuari , Daniel Abt
Teams Trulli
Article type Qualifying report