Mexico ePrix: Buemi slip gives D'Ambrosio pole

Jerome d'Ambrosio took pole position for the Mexico ePrix as Formula E points leader Sebastien Buemi made a critical error on his hot lap.

Having been quickest in the group stages, Renault edams driver Buemi locked up braking for the first corner during his lap in the Top 5 shootout.

That meant that D'Ambrosio, who had secured provisional pole with a time of 1m03.705s, secured his second pole of the season following on from his success in Punta del Este.

D'Ambrosio's three points for pole move him ahead of Dragon Racing teammate Loic Duval for fourth in the standings.

Buemi's teammate Nico Prost secured second with a lap 0.308s off D'Ambrosio's pace, eclipsing Lucas di Grassi by just 0.010s.

Daniel Abt made it an all-Abt Audi second row with fourth, with Buemi completing the top five after completing his hot lap 1.3s off the pace.

Jean-Eric Vergne topped the opening qualifying group with a time of 1m04.268s, but this wasn’t enough to make the Top 5 shootout, the Frenchman just missing out in sixth.

Antonio Felix da Costa was seventh, ahead of Loic Duval, Nick Heidfeld and Stephane Sarrazin. Buenos Aires ePrix winner Sam Bird couldn’t do better than 11th after a mistake in the final sector.

The Brit however will start in P10 due to a 10-place grid penalty for Felix da Costa due to a gearbox change.

Drama for Piquet and Senna

There was trouble in the final group for reigning champion Nelson Piquet Jr, who suffered a monster lock-up at Turn 1, ploughing into the Tecpro barriers and destroying the front end of his NEXTEV TCR machine – an incident that also brought out the red flags.

“I was pushing the limits a bit and I think I found it!” said Piquet. “I’m sure my guys are going to hustle as much as they can, hopefully they can get [the car] ready [for the race].”

Mahindra’s Bruno Senna will share the back row with Piquet, after the Brazilian suffered a spin at Turn 1 in the second group, damaging his car with light contact against the barriers.

Qualifying results:

1 BelgiumJerome d'Ambrosio  United StatesDragon Racing Venturi VM200-FE-01 1:03.705
2 FranceNicolas Prost  FranceDAMS Renault Z.E.15 1:04.013
3 BrazilLucas di Grassi  GermanyAudi Sport Team Abt ABT Schaeffler FE01 1:04.023
4 GermanyDaniel Abt  GermanyAudi Sport Team Abt ABT Schaeffler FE01 1:04.335
5 SwitzerlandSebastien Buemi  FranceDAMS Renault Z.E.15 1:05.183
6 FranceJean-Eric Vergne  United KingdomVirgin Racing Virgin DSV-01 1:04.268
7 PortugalAntonio Felix da Costa JapanTeam Aguri Spark SRT_01E 1:04.371
8 FranceLoic Duval  United StatesDragon Racing Venturi VM200-FE-01 1:04.492
9 GermanyNick Heidfeld  IndiaMahindra Racing Mahindra M2ELECTRO 1:04.523
10 FranceStephane Sarrazin  MonacoVenturi Venturi VM200-FE-01 1:04.583
11 United KingdomSam Bird  United KingdomVirgin Racing Virgin DSV-01 1:04.594
12 SwitzerlandSimona de Silvestro  United StatesAndretti Autosport Spark SRT_01E 1:04.606
13 NetherlandsRobin Frijns  United StatesAndretti Autosport Spark SRT_01E 1:04.959
14 United KingdomMike Conway  MonacoVenturi Venturi VM200-FE-01 1:05.108
15 MexicoSalvador Duran  JapanTeam Aguri Spark SRT_01E 1:05.452
16 United KingdomOliver Turvey  ChinaChina Racing NEXTEV TCR FormulaE 001 1:06.166
17 BrazilBruno Senna  IndiaMahindra Racing Mahindra M2ELECTRO 1:07.724
18 BrazilNelson Piquet Jr.  ChinaChina Racing NEXTEV TCR FormulaE 001
no time

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula E
Event Mexico ePrix
Track Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez
Drivers Nelson Piquet Jr.
Article type Qualifying report