Mexico ePrix: Buemi quickest again in practice two

Sebastien Buemi was quickest in second practice for today’s Mexico ePrix as he again stamped his authority over the opposition in his Renault e.dams machine.

The Swiss driver completed just one maximum 200Kw power lap and set a best time of 1m03.341s, which was enough for him to enjoy a 0.258s advantage over Daniel Abt, who placed second despite a gearbox issue.

Lucas di Grassi recovered from a difficult first session to set the early pace on a 1m03.748s and would eventually have to settle for third place behind team mate Abt.

Nicolas Prost claimed fourth, while British duo Mike Conway and Oliver Turvey impressed with laps good enough for fifth and sixth positions in their Venturi and NEXTEV cars respectively.

Significant incidents came after ten minutes of the session when first Bruno Senna spun and grazed the wall at turn 13, and then Salvador Duran stopped his Team Aguri car at the exit of turn three. Duran’s issue necessitated a brief red flag.

It was another tough session for the Mexican's team mate Antonio Felix da Costa as he again missed the first half of running due to a technical issue.

Among other drivers to hit trouble was Sam Bird, who suffered a spin at the first chicane and backed his Virgin DSV-01 lightly in to the barriers. The Buenos Aires ePrix winner placed a frustrated 15th.

Bird’s team mate Jean-Eric Vergne was ninth but felt one of his quick laps was compromised by Loic Duval’s Dragon entry. The former Toro Rosso driver gesticulated furiously at his countryman as the two came close to touching at the final corner.

Second practice times:

1 SwitzerlandSebastien Buemi FranceDAMS 1:03.341 1:03.341
2 GermanyDaniel Abt GermanyAudi Sport Team Abt 1:03.599 +0.258
3 BrazilLucas di Grassi GermanyAudi Sport Team Abt 1:03.748 +0.407
4 FranceNicolas Prost FranceDAMS 1:03.818 +0.477
5 United KingdomMike Conway MonacoVenturi 1:03.910 +0.569
6 United KingdomOliver Turvey ChinaChina Racing 1:03.964 +0.623
7 BelgiumJerome d'Ambrosio United StatesDragon Racing 1:04.201 +0.860
8 FranceStephane Sarrazin MonacoVenturi 1:04.244 +0.903
9 FranceJean-Eric Vergne United KingdomVirgin Racing 1:04.605 +1.264
10 BrazilNelson Piquet Jr. ChinaChina Racing 1:04.620 +1.279
11 BrazilBruno Senna IndiaMahindra Racing 1:04.648 +1.307
12 GermanyNick Heidfeld IndiaMahindra Racing 1:04.701 +1.360
13 NetherlandsRobin Frijns United StatesAndretti Autosport 1:04.706 +1.365
14 FranceLoic Duval United StatesDragon Racing 1:04.897 +1.556
15 United KingdomSam Bird United KingdomVirgin Racing 1:04.900 +1.559
16 SwitzerlandSimona de Silvestro United StatesAndretti Autosport 1:05.275 +1.934
17 PortugalAntonio Felix da Costa JapanTeam Aguri 1:05.446 +2.105
18 MexicoSalvador Duran JapanTeam Aguri 1:05.614 +2.273

Qualifying Groups

Group 1
Stephane Sarrazin, Venturi
Loic Duval, Dragon Racing
Nick Heidfeld, Mahindra Racing
Jean-Eric Vergne, DS Virgin Racing


Group 2
Jerome D’Ambrosio, Dragon Racing
Sebastien Buemi, Renault e.dams
Lucas di Grassi, ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport
Bruno Senna, Mahindra Racing


Group 3
Nico Prost, Renault e.dams
Antonio Felix da Costa, Team Aguri
Simona de Silvestro, Andretti Formula E
Daniel Abt, ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport
Oliver Turvey, NEXTEV TCR


Group 4
Salvador Duran, Team Aguri
Nelson Piquet Jr, NEXTEV TCR
Sam Bird, DS Virgin Racing
Mike Conway, Venturi
Robin Frijns, Andretti Formula E

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula E
Event Mexico ePrix
Track Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez
Drivers Lucas di Grassi , Sébastien Buemi , Daniel Abt
Teams DAMS
Article type Breaking news