Mexico ePrix: Buemi heads Duval in first practice

Renault e.dams driver Sebastien Buemi set the quickest lap of the first practice session for Saturday's Mexico ePrix.

The championship leader stopped the clocks at 1m03.995s to head Dragon Racing driver Loic Duval by 0.367s.

Buemi and Duval were among only a few drivers to run at the full qualifying allowance of 200kW. NEXTEV TCR driver Oliver Turvey placed third after also completing a lap at maximum power.

The drivers experienced the track for the first time in a brief shakedown session yesterday, but this morning’s running featured the first full-power laps on the specially-adapted Hermanos Rodriguez track - which, at 2.092km, is the shortest on the calendar.

Producing the fourth best time of the 45-minute session was Nicolas Prost who, unlike his team mate Buemi, did not attempt a 200kW lap. Fifth was Daniel Abt in the Abt Schaeffler Audi Sport car, ahead of Jerome d’Ambrosio’s Dragon entry.

Local hero Salvador Duran ended the session 15th in his Team Aguri car, while his team mate Antonio Felix da Costa had a frustrating start as he was forced to sit out the first 15-minutes due to a battery change being required on one of his cars. The Portuguese driver ended the session in 12th position.

The major incidents in the session were confined to Nelson Piquet locking up and straightlining the turn three chicane and Stephane Sarrazin spinning his Venturi 360 degrees round, also at turn three.

Lucas di Grassi also had a brief delay when he had to be pushed into his pit box by his mechanics after stopping at the pit entry. The Brazilian finished the session in ninthposition.

There was also a brief red flag with ten minutes of the session remaining to retrieve Simona de Silvestro's stranded Andretti car. The Swiss driver was forced to park her machine at the exit of turn four with a technical problem.

The final practice session before qualifying takes place at 10.30am local time.

1 SwitzerlandSébastien Buemi FranceDAMS 1:03.995  
2 FranceLoic Duval United StatesDragon Racing 1:04.362 +0.367
3 United KingdomOliver Turvey ChinaChina Racing 1:05.067 +1.072
4 FranceNicolas Prost FranceDAMS 1:05.149 +1.154
5 GermanyDaniel Abt GermanyAudi Sport Team Abt 1:05.188 +1.193
6 BelgiumJérôme d'Ambrosio United StatesDragon Racing 1:05.257 +1.262
7 FranceStéphane Sarrazin MonacoVenturi 1:05.273 +1.278
8 GermanyNick Heidfeld IndiaMahindra Racing 1:05.274 +1.279
9 BrazilLucas di Grassi GermanyAudi Sport Team Abt 1:05.287 +1.292
10 United KingdomMike Conway MonacoVenturi 1:05.388 +1.393
11 BrazilNelson Piquet Jr. ChinaChina Racing 1:05.406 +1.411
12 PortugalAntonio Felix da Costa JapanTeam Aguri 1:05.465 +1.470
13 FranceJean-Eric Vergne United KingdomVirgin Racing 1:05.681 +1.686
14 BrazilBruno Senna IndiaMahindra Racing 1:05.817 +1.822
15 MexicoSalvador Duran JapanTeam Aguri 1:05.944 +1.949
16 United KingdomSam Bird United KingdomVirgin Racing 1:05.994 +1.999
17 NetherlandsRobin Frijns United StatesAndretti Autosport 1:06.051 +2.056
18 SwitzerlandSimona de Silvestro United StatesAndretti Autosport 1:06.289 +2.294


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula E
Event Mexico ePrix
Track Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez
Drivers Loic Duval , Sébastien Buemi , Oliver Turvey
Teams DAMS
Article type Practice report