Marrakesh ePrix: Buemi tops red-flagged second practice

Sebastien Buemi was fastest in final Marrakesh ePrix practice, taking the top spot with a late 200kw lap before the session was red-flagged due to Sam Bird crashing into the barriers.

Renault e.dams driver Buemi's time of 1m20.599s was 0.235s quicker than his nearest challenger, Mahindra's Felix Rosenqvist, with Techeetah's Jean-Eric Vergne finishing third.

After the session however, Buemi revealed a back problem he has been suffering since Friday, which forced him to miss car-changing practice.

Meanwhile, NextEV's Oliver Turvey's laptime of 1m21.453s meant the top four all managed to beat the quickest qualifying time of 1m21.457s set by Jose Maria Lopez in WTCC at the track earlier in the year.

The session came to an abrupt end after DS Virgin's Bird crashed out at Turn 8 with just over three minutes remaining, the British driver ending up 11th.

Inside the top 10, Faraday Future Dragon Racing's Loic Duval was fifth, with ABT Schaeffler Audi's Daniel Abt sixth - making it six different cars in the top six.

NextEV's Nelson Piquet Jr ran in the top three for majority of the session but eventually finished seventh, ahead of lead Andretti of Antonio Felix da Costa.

FP1 pacesetter Lucas di Grassi was ninth, having survived couple of spins during the session, while Mahindra's Nick Heidfeld completed the top 10.

Meanwhile, the Jaguar duo of Mitch Evans and Adam Carroll were 14th and 20th respectively, while Lopez, the only driver to have prior experience of the Marrakesh track, was 15th in the second DS Virgin car.

FP2 results:

1 Sébastien Buemi DAMS 16 1'20.599  
2 Felix Rosenqvist Mahindra Racing 10 1'20.834 0.235
3 Jean-Eric Vergne Techeetah 15 1'21.209 0.610
4 Oliver Turvey  NextEV 15 1'21.453 0.854
5 Loic Duval Dragon Racing 12 1'21.549 0.950
6 Daniel Abt Team Abt 15 1'21.585 0.986
7 Nelson Piquet Jr.  NextEV 13 1'21.731 1.132
8 Antonio Felix da Costa Andretti Autosport 12 1'21.775 1.176
9 Lucas di Grassi Team Abt 16 1'21.776 1.177
10 Nick Heidfeld Mahindra Racing 9 1'21.825 1.226
11 Sam Bird Virgin Racing 12 1'21.913 1.314
12 Maro Engel Venturi 16 1'22.339 1.740
13 Ma Qing Hua Techeetah 15 1'22.365 1.766
14 Mitch Evans Jaguar Racing 14 1'22.591 1.992
15 Jose Maria Lopez Virgin Racing 9 1'22.654 2.055
16 Jérôme d'Ambrosio Dragon Racing 16 1'22.904 2.305
17 Nicolas Prost DAMS 16 1'23.048 2.449
18 Stéphane Sarrazin Venturi 13 1'23.387 2.788
19 Robin Frijns Andretti Autosport 9 1'23.455 2.856
20 Adam Carroll Jaguar Racing 13 1'24.341 3.742
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula E
Event Marrakesh ePrix
Track Circuit International Automobile Moulay El Hassan
Drivers Sébastien Buemi
Teams DAMS
Article type Practice report