Heidfeld joins Senna at Mahindra for season two

Nick Heidfeld and Bruno Senna will comprise Mahindra Racing's season two driver line-up in the Formula E championship, the team announced ahead of pre-season testing at Donington Park.

Heidfeld, a veteran of 183 Grand Prix starts, finished 12th in the inaugural season of the all-electric series with a best finish of third at Moscow, losing his best chance of victory in a dramatic collision with Nicolas Prost in the very last corner of the opening Beijing round.

Having been replaced by 1997 Formula 1 champion Jacques Villeneuve at Venturi, Heidfeld now joins Senna at Mahindra, which has entered into a new partnership with Campos Racing for the 2015/16 campaign, in place of the departed Karun Chandhok.

"I am very excited to join Mahindra Racing for the second Formula E season," said the German.

"Mahindra's high ambitions are aligned with lessons learned from season one and actions taken for year two.

"When I tested the M2Electro in Spain, I found a determined team that shares my racing passion.

"My target is to win and I believe our combined experience and skills will ensure we maximise our chances."

Turvey in testing action for NEXTEV

Elsewhere, Oliver Turvey reprises the NEXTEV TCR seat alongside defending champion Nelson Piquet Jr that he occupied during June's season finale at Battersea Park for the first pre-season test, while e.dams Renault runs an unchanged line-up of Sebastien Buemi and Nicolas Prost.

As revealed by Motorsport.com last week, ex-GP2 racer Tom Dillmann will test for Team Aguri, although only on Tuesday as season one driver Salvador Duran gets behind the wheel on Monday.

The Abt squad has also chosen to split its testing duties, with Lucas di Grassi driving for the first day before Daniel Abt takes over on Tuesday.

Meanwhile, Trulli - which has already confirmed Vitantonio Liuzzi to drive alongside team owner Jarno Trulli - and Andretti, which has a vacancy following the signing of Jean-Eric Vergne by DS Virgin Racing, will both run only one car each.

First pre-season test entry list:

Team Drivers

 Nelson Piquet

 Oliver Turvey

DS Virgin

 Sam Bird

 Jean-Eric Vergne


 Loic Duval

 Jerome D'Ambrosio

Renault edams

 Sebastien Buemi

 Nicolas Prost

ABT Schaeffler AS

 Lucas di Grassi (Monday)

 Daniel Abt (Tuesday)


 Jarno Trulli


 Jacques Villeneuve

 Stephane Sarrazin


 Bruno Senna

 Nick Heidfeld


 Simona De Silvestro 

Team Aguri

 Salvador Duran (Monday)

 Tom Dillmann (Tuesday)

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula E
Drivers Nick Heidfeld
Article type Breaking news