Formula E season two powertrains approved

The FIA has approved the homologation of eight different powertrains that will be used in the championship for the second season of Formula E.

After having to stick to the specification Spark-Renault SRT01-e car for the 2014/15 campaign, the teams competing in the all-electric series are now free to develop their own in-house technology for in the areas of the e-motor, inverter, gearbox and cooling system.

Of the 10 teams, which are the same as those that competed in the inaugural season, eight will make use of their own powertrains in season two.

The two exceptions are Dragon Racing, which will use Venturi’s new bespoke powertrain, and Team Aguri, which is the only team continuing with the Spark-Renault package from season one.

Season two kicks off in Beijing on October 17, while testing commences at Donington Park on August 10.

List of entrants and powertrains:

 ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport 

ABT Schaeffler FE01

 Andretti Formula E Team 

Andretti ATEC-01

 Dragon Racing

Venturi VM200-FE-01

 DS Virgin Racing Formula E Team 


 Mahindra Racing Formula E Team 

Mahindra M2ELECTRO

 NEXTEV TCR Formula E Team

NEXTEV TCR FormulaE 001

 Renault e.Dams 


 Team Aguri 


 Trulli Formula E Team 

Motomatica JT-01

 Venturi Formula E Team 

Venturi VM200-FE-01


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula E
Article type Breaking news