Formula E reveals season two race schedule

The FIA has confirmed the calendar for season two of its Formula E electric single-seater series, which kicks off in China in October.

As forecast by last week, there are 10 venues and 11 races scheduled on the ratified calendar issued by the FIA today, after the World Motorsports Council Meeting in Mexico City.

The Putrajaya race is now set for November 7, meaning there will be just a three-week gap after the season-opening event of season two, which is set to take place at Beijing on October 17.

The Punta Del Este round in Uruguay has moved back a week to December 19, before a winter break of six weeks to Buenos Aires on February 6.

The fifth round was initially penciled-in for Miami at the end of February, but as previously revealed, this event has not appeared on the schedule.

A TBD slot has appeared for March 19, which is most likely to be Mexico City. The race would probably take in a shortened version of the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez, but could be a downtown track too. Montreal is also believed to be in the frame for this date.

Long Beach has a slot confirmed for April 2, after which the series will switch to Europe at the end of April with the first ever Paris ePrix which will be run on April 23.

Formula E boss Alejandro Agag has gone on record stating that Monaco is likely to become a biennial event, so it drops off the season two calendar as expected.

“We are pleased to confirm that the second season will again feature 11 ePrix,” said Agag. “It’s an important sign of stability and it consolidates the presence of the championship in the panoply of major global motorsport events run under the aegis of the FIA.

“Over the past few months, we have received many indications of interest from numerous cities from all over the world. We have chosen to keep the number of races the same, with the aim of planting even more solid roots in the cities which trusted in us right from the start.

"As for the location of the fifth round, the one on 19th March, we are working to maintain the same geographic allocation of races: the aim is to have a fourth ePrix on the American continent.”

The season will conclude with three events in five weeks with the Berlin event at Tempelhof airport on May 21, Moscow on June 4 and then the double-header season finale at Battersea Park – at a date that is yet to be decided but will most likely be July 2/3 to avoid clashing with the British Grand Prix at Silverstone.

Formula E season two dates (2015/16)

October 17 – Beijing, China

November 7 – Putrajaya, Malaysia

December 19 – Punta Del Este, Uruguay

February 6 – Buenos Aires, Argentina

March 19 – TBD (Mexico City? Montreal?)

April 2 – Long Beach, USA

April 23 – Paris, France

May 21 – Berlin, Germany

June 4 – Moscow, Russia

TBD (July 2/3?) – Battersea Park, London

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula E
Article type Breaking news