Formula E limits driver changes for season two

The FIA Formula E championship has decided to implement a limit of two driver changes per car for the second season of the series.

The first campaign of the all-electric championship saw 35 drivers take part in at least one race, with five debutants joining the field for the Battersea Park finale.

But for the second season, the 10 Formula E teams will be limited to only two changes for each of their two entries, while no driver changes will be permitted for the final three races of the season.

However, in special cases and in the event of a force majeure where the driver is not available, any change then will be at the discretion of the stewards.

Any driver changes will have to be announced two weeks in advance.

New e-License system

In addition to the limits on driver changes, Formula E has also made it mandatory for the participating drivers to comply with the new e-License system.

They must also take part in a specific FIA training session which will cover the important points of electrical safety, as well as the technical and sporting aspects of the series.

A driver must have 20 points in the previous three seasons under the FIA Superlicense points system to obtain an e-License.

However, it is stipulated that a driver can be granted the e-license without meeting the points requirement "if judged by the FIA to have consistently demonstrated outstanding ability in single-seater formula cars".

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula E
Article type Breaking news