Formula E - Everything you need to know

Here's a guide for all those interested in understanding how a Formula E race weekend works.

The FIA Formula E championship gets underway in Beijing, China this weekend. The fully electric racing series is unique in a number of ways, so we've outlined how it all works below.

The races will be contested over 10 rounds, all taking place on street circuits across the world. Every ePrix will be a one-day event with practice, qualifying and the race itself taking place in a single day, in order to reduce costs and minimise the disruption to the host city. Twenty drivers, from 10 teams, will compete. Two reserve drivers may also be entered per team.


There will be two practice sessions. One 45-minute practice, followed by another 30-minute session. Drivers will have two cars at their disposal.


Qualifying lasts 40 minutes and drivers will be divided into four groups of five cars, with each group having ten minutes to set the fastest time possible. The pole-sitter is awarded three championship points.


Races will all commence with standing starts and last one hour. Drivers are forced to make one mandatory pit stop in order to change cars. Power will be restricted to 'race mode,' but for those with FanBoost, the power output can be temporarily increased by 40hp for five seconds. Tire changes, unless a puncture, are not permitted during the car swap stop.


Fans can give their favorite driver an extra speed boost by voting for them prior to the race. The three drivers with the most votes will each receive a five-second ‘power boost,’ temporarily increasing their car’s power. Just click HERE to cast your vote. 

Championship format

The FIA has put both a driver and team championship in place for Formula E. A driver's end of season total is made up of every result with the exception of their worst race. Drivers will score points using the standard FIA system (1st = 25pts, 2nd = 18pts, 3 = 15pts, 4th = 12pts, 5th = 10pts, 6th = 8pts, 7th = 6pts, 8th = 4pts, 9th = 2pts and 10th = 1pt).

Three points will be awarded to the driver securing pole position and two will be given to the driver who posts the fastest lap time during the race.


The Official tire of Formula E is Michelin. Each driver will be supplied five new front and rear tires per event. These must last for the entire race event. One front tire and one rear tire must come from the previous race weekend.

Car charging

Charging of the Formula E cars is not permitted during practice, qualifying, the race or at any time prior to the completion of post-qualifying or post-race scrutineering. Charging of all 20 cars takes 50 minutes.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula E
Article type Analysis