Formula E announces season two teams

The Formula E championship organisers have officially issued the list of team names to compete in season two of the series which will begin this October in Beijing.

As expected, the same ten teams are entered with a slight variation in team names such as e.DAMS Renault becoming Renault e.DAMS.

The team formerly known as Audi Abt now becomes ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport in deference to the German technology and engineering specialist.

As reported by yesterday, there will not be an 11th team in season two.

The possibility of the same entity being granted a slot for season three in 2016/17 is thought to still be in advanced discussions between the championship organisers Formula E Holdings Ltd and representatives from the existing teams.

The official testing for season two gets underway on August 10 and runs through until August 25.

The eight 'manufacturer' teams have been allocated 15 days of testing. The only team known to have completed all of its 15 days testing so far is the DS Virgin team.

Renault eDAMS, Audi Abt, Venturi, NEXTEV and Mahindra have also made public its testing. Dragon Racing has undertaken just a few days with the Venturi car, which ran with the powertrain that will be supplied to the American squad. As a manufacturer that is supply another team, Venturi is entitled to five extra test days.

The newly named Team Aguri (nee Amlin Aguri) is currently the only squad that will run with the original season one Spark/McLaren/Hewland package. It is unclear as to if the Trulli Formula E team has track tested its new technology. The outfit has been the quietest of the ten during the 'off season' so far. understands that once the homologation documents have been approved the manufacturer teams are obliged to run them and are unable to revert back to season one technology.

However, force majeure clauses are believed to exist that could see any chronically unreliable powertrains 'rest'.

Team names for season two:

ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport

Andretti Formula E Team

Dragon Racing

DS Virgin Racing Formula E Team

Mahindra Racing Formula E Team

NEXTEV TCR Formula E Team

Renault e.Dams

Team Aguri

Trulli Formula E Team

Venturi Formula E Team

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula E
Article type Breaking news