Berthon secures second Aguri Formula E seat

Berthon secures second Aguri Formula E seat
Sam Smith
By: Sam Smith
Oct 16, 2015, 5:31 PM

Nathanael Berthon has signed to join the Aguri Formula E squad, completing the driver line-up for the second season of the all-electric series.

Tom Dillmann, Team Aguri
#48 Murphy Prototypes Oreca 03R - Nissan: Mark Patterson, Nathanael Berthon, Michael Lyons
Nicolas Lapierre, Team Aguri
Nathanael Berthon, Team Lazarus
Race winner Nathanael Berthon
Nicolas Lapierre, Team Aguri
Tom Dillmann, Team Aguri

The 26 year-old Frenchman joins Antonio Felix da Costa at the Anglo-Japanese team, having undergone a successful series of tests in the Aguri Spark-McLaren at Donington Park in August.

Berthon will make his Formula E race debut at the Beijing ePrix on October 24, having dovetailed GP2 and LMP2 sportscar duties for the last two seasons, racing for the Lazarus and Murphy teams respectively.

"I am really looking forward to racing with Team Aguri in the second season of Formula E," Berthon told

"I am really thankful to Mark [Preston] and the whole team for giving me the chance to show what I could bring to the team at Donington last month.

"For me it is a good new challenge and I think we can look forward to a very good season with the proven package that Aguri has worked on further during the off-season."

Berthon becomes the fifth French driver to be confirmed in Formula E for season two, joining Loic Duval, Jean-Eric Vergne, Nicolas Prost and Stephane Sarrazin.

Next April, he will get the chance to race on the streets of his country's capital city at the Paris ePrix.

"It will be just amazing to race in Paris. When you consider France has not had a Grand Prix for almost 10 years, it will be a special weekend for sure," he concluded.

2015/16 Formula E line-up:

Team Drivers

 Nelson Piquet

 Oliver Turvey

DS Virgin

 Sam Bird 

 Jean-Eric Vergne 


 Loic Duval

 Jerome D'Ambrosio

Renault e.dams

 Sebastien Buemi

 Nicolas Prost

ABT Schaeffler AS

 Lucas di Grassi 

 Daniel Abt 


 Tonio Liuzzi

 Salvador Duran


 Jacques Villeneuve

 Stephane Sarrazin


 Bruno Senna

 Nick Heidfeld


 Robin Frijns

 Simona De Silvestro 

Team Aguri

 Antonio Felix da Costa

 Nathanael Berthon


Next Formula E article
Exclusive: Manufacturers form Formula E Advisory Group

Previous article

Exclusive: Manufacturers form Formula E Advisory Group

Next article

Di Grassi plays down "favourite" status ahead of season opener

Di Grassi plays down "favourite" status ahead of season opener
Load comments

About this article

Series Formula E
Drivers Nathanael Berthon
Teams Team Aguri
Author Sam Smith
Article type Breaking news