Berlin ePrix: Buemi heads Turvey in opening practice

Berlin ePrix: Buemi heads Turvey in opening practice
May 21, 2016, 7:16 AM

Sebastien Buemi was fastest in the first practice session at Berlin ePrix after setting a best lap of 57.648s in his e.dams Renault car.

The Swiss, who trails Lucas Di Grassi by 11-points, with three races of the season remaining, was a full second ahead of the competition after being one of just two drivers to undertake a full power lap.

Oliver Turvey had been quickest for most of the session until Buemi’s late lap. The British driver set his best lap on a full-power 200kW lap and set a 58.690s lap in his NEXTEV TCR FormulaE 001.

Behind Turvey, championship leader di Grassi headed the 170kW powered lapped drivers with a late 58.916s lap.

The Brazilian briefly stopped on the track after setting his best time but was able to re-start his Abt Schaeffler FE01 car.

Nicolas Prost (e.dams) claimed fourth position ahead of Buenos Aires winner Sam Bird (DS Virgin) and Dragon Racing’s Loic Duval.

Rene Rast acquitted himself well in his first Formula E session as he took his Team Aguri Spark-Renault to 15th fastest, ahead of team mate Ma Qing Hua (18th) who was given a black and white flag for not respecting blue flags.

The first Dragon Racing car of Loic Duval finished sixth ahead of the first Venturi car of Mike Conway.

The top 10 was rounded by Jerome d'Ambrosio at eighth followed by Stephane Sarrazin and Daniel Abt.

Many of the drivers found the track surface complex as it is made up of different types of asphalt.

There were however few incidents in the 45-minute session with only Jean-Eric Vergne and Robin Frijns taking a harmless trip down the turn five escape road midway through the session.

Frijns had to take avoiding action in his Andretti Spark-Renault after Mahindra's Bruno Senna gently nudged the techpro barrier. The Brazilian continued without damage to his car.

FP1 results:

1 SwitzerlandSébastien Buemi  FranceDAMS 57.648 32
2 United KingdomOliver Turvey  ChinaChina Racing +1.042 38
3 BrazilLucas di Grassi  GermanyTeam Abt +1.268 34
4 FranceNicolas Prost  FranceDAMS +1.520 31
5 United KingdomSam Bird  United KingdomVirgin Racing +1.588 26
6 FranceLoic Duval  United StatesDragon Racing +1.607 33
7 United KingdomMike Conway  MonacoVenturi +1.612 32
8 BelgiumJérôme d'Ambrosio  United StatesDragon Racing +1.834 31
9 FranceStéphane Sarrazin  MonacoVenturi +1.877 32
10 GermanyDaniel Abt  GermanyTeam Abt +1.935 35
11 BrazilBruno Senna  IndiaMahindra Racing +1.952 31
12 BrazilNelson Piquet Jr.  ChinaChina Racing +2.076 32
13 FranceJean-Eric Vergne  United KingdomVirgin Racing +2.141 28
14 GermanyNick Heidfeld  IndiaMahindra Racing +2.436 25
15 GermanyRené Rast  JapanTeam Aguri +2.491 32
16 NetherlandsRobin Frijns   Andretti +2.900 26
17 SwitzerlandSimona de Silvestro   Andretti +3.198 30
18 ChinaMa Qing Hua  JapanTeam Aguri +3.477 32
Next article
Renault retains Buemi and Prost for season three of Formula E

Previous article

Renault retains Buemi and Prost for season three of Formula E

Next article

Berlin ePrix: Piquet tops FP2 as Buemi and Sarrazin crash

Berlin ePrix: Piquet tops FP2 as Buemi and Sarrazin crash
Load comments

About this article

Series Formula E
Event Berlin ePrix
Location Streets of Berlin
Author Sam Smith
Be first to get
breaking news