Wehrlein joins GP2's post-season Abu Dhabi test

Mercedes protege Pascal Wehrlein is among the 24 drivers who will get a test run in GP2 machinery at Yas Marina on Wednesday.

Wehrlein, whose plans for 2016 have yet to be confirmed, will join Prema for Day 1 of the three-day test, lining up alongside Red Bull junior Pierre Gasly.

Gasly's 2015 teammate Alex Lynn will remain with DAMS alongside Formula Renault 3.5 regular and occasional GP2 driver Nicholas Latifi.

Honda protege Nobuharu Matsushita - a shock race-winner in his debut season - will continue working with ART, joined by FR3.5 champion Oliver Rowland.

Campos will field Sean Gelael, who is to race for the team in 2016, alongside its Spanish F3 champion Konstantin Tereshchenko, while Russian Time's line-up will be made up of regular driver Artem Markelov and FR3.5 race winner Tio Ellinas.

As previously confirmed, Felix Rosenqvist and Patric Armand will make up the Status line-up for Wednesday, while Jordan King and Sergey Sirotkin will link up at Racing Engineering.

Norman Nato will continue running for Arden, joined by Gustav Malja, while Nato's 2015 teammate Andre Negrao will test alongside GP3's most experienced driver Alex Fontana at Rapax.

GP3 runner-up Luca Ghiotto, who has been linked to the Red Bull Junior Team, will be alongside another GP3 frontrunner Jimmy Eriksson at Trident.

Carlin will be made up of GP2 race winner Richie Stanaway and FR3.5 frontrunner Dean Stoneman, while MP will field Nick Yelloly, who drove for Hilmer, and Renault Sport Trophy driver Richard Gonda.

Wednesday GP2 test line-up:

Team Drivers
DAMS  Nicholas Latifi Alex Lynn
Carlin Dean Stoneman Richie Stanaway
ART Grand Prix Oliver Rowland Nobuharu Matsushita
Racing Engineering Jordan King Sergey Sirotkin
Russian Time Tio Ellinas Artem Markelov
Trident Luca Ghiotto Jimmy Eriksson
Campos Sean Gelael Konstantin Tereshchenko
MP Richard Gonda Nick Yelloly
Rapax Alex Fontana Andre Negrao
Arden Gustav Malja Norman Nato
Status Patric Armand Felix Rosenqvist
Prema Pierre Gasly Pascal Wehrlein
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series FIA F2
Drivers Dean Stoneman , Jimmy Eriksson , Alex Fontana , Felix Rosenqvist , Andre Negrao , Jordan King , Nick Yelloly , Richie Stanaway , Tio Ellinas , Alex Lynn , Pascal Wehrlein , Sergey Sirotkin , Sean Gelael , Nicholas Latifi , Pierre Gasly , Oliver Rowland , Artem Markelov , Luca Ghiotto , Konstantin Tereshchenko , Nobuharu Matsushita , Gustav Malja , Philo Paz Armand , Richard Gonda
Article type Breaking news