Spa F2: Latifi takes first win of 2018, Norris second

Spa F2: Latifi takes first win of 2018, Norris second
Aug 26, 2018, 10:55 AM

Nicholas Latifi scored his first win of the 2018 Formula 2 season from pole in the Spa-Francorchamps sprint race, as McLaren Formula 1 junior Lando Norris starred.

Feature race winner Nyck De Vries got a fantastic start, launching past his rivals to move up to third from eighth on the grid.

The Dutch driver – calling this weekend his home grand prix – took five tours to dispatch Luca Ghiotto for second.

But after that, the Prema Racing driver could only watch as pole-sitter Latifi disappeared into the distance for DAMS's fourth win of the season.

De Vries began to fall back, and on the last lap, Lando Norris honed in and took second on the Kemmel Straight with the assistance of DRS.

Norris had been the prime early mover. He passed Artem Markelov at the start but immediately lost the spot at the bottom of the Kemmel Straight on lap one.

Norris had another go on lap four, with the two side-by-side for three corners, before Markelov eased back away at the exit of Malmedy.

But Norris’ move was complete next time around and he took Luca Ghiotto two laps later to set up a podium spot.

Alex Albon also passed de Vries right after Norris' move and began attacking the Carlin driver instantly.

But Norris defended brilliantly and held off Albon for second in a tense half-a-lap, as de Vries held on to fourth from Markelov on the finish line.

Having lost and then retaken seventh from Roy Nissany in the opening laps, George Russell was unable to move forward and finished behind Ghiotto in seventh.

It means Russell's championship lead over Norris is reduced to five points with six races remaining.

Sergio Sette Camara struggled on the medium tyres, after taking second in the previous day’s feature race.

He lost eighth late on to a charging Arjun Maini who took the final point, with Russell’s teammate Jack Aitken rounding out the top 10 behind Sette Camara.

Race results

Cla Driver Team Laps Time Gap
1 Canada Nicholas Latifi  France DAMS 18 37'13.659  
2 United Kingdom Lando Norris  United Kingdom Carlin 18 37'24.061 10.402
3 Thailand Alexander Albon  France DAMS 18 37'24.425 10.766
4 Netherlands Nyck de Vries  Italy Prema Powerteam 18 37'26.869 13.210
5 Russian Federation Artem Markelov  Russian Federation RUSSIAN TIME 18 37'27.107 13.448
6 Italy Luca Ghiotto  Spain Campos Racing 18 37'35.838 22.179
7 United Kingdom George Russell  France ART Grand Prix 18 37'37.016 23.357
8 India Arjun Maini  Italy Trident 18 37'45.523 31.864
9 Sérgio Sette  United Kingdom Carlin 18 37'47.237 33.578
10 United Kingdom Jack Aitken  France ART Grand Prix 18 37'48.226 34.567
11 Tadasuke Makino  Russian Federation RUSSIAN TIME 18 37'53.691 40.032
12 Switzerland Ralph Boschung  Netherlands MP Motorsport 18 37'53.759 40.100
13 Switzerland Louis Deletraz  Charouz Racing System 18 37'56.558 42.899
14 Israel Roy Nissany  Spain Campos Racing 18 37'58.290 44.631
15 Italy Alessio Lorandi  Italy Trident 18 38'06.227 52.568
16 Maximilian Günther  United Kingdom Arden International 18 38'08.964 55.305
17 Japan Nirei Fukuzumi  United Kingdom Arden International 18 38'12.666 59.007
18 France Dorian Boccolacci  Netherlands MP Motorsport 18 38'13.774 1'00.115
19 Italy Antonio Fuoco  Charouz Racing System 18 38'20.595 1'06.936
  Indonesia Sean Gelael  Italy Prema Powerteam 2 4'18.070 16 Laps
Next article
Spa F2: De Vries dominates feature race

Previous article

Spa F2: De Vries dominates feature race

Next article

Markelov linked to Williams 2019 F1 drive

Markelov linked to Williams 2019 F1 drive
Load comments

About this article

Series FIA F2
Event Spa-Francorchamps
Sub-event Sunday race
Drivers Nicholas Latifi
Teams DAMS
Author Jack Benyon