Monza GP2: Evans picks up a thrilling win

In almost a repeat of what happened in the GP3 race earlier today, Mitch Evans snatched victory from Arthur Pic on the final lap of the GP2 Sprint race at Monza.

Campos Racing's Pic inherited the lead of the race when the reverse grid polesitter Jordan King (Racing Engineering) lost his front wing on the opening lap and retired from the race.

Status' Richie Stanaway moved up to second from fifth while Evans slotted in at third after the first lap as Arden's Norman Nato retired from a suspected engine failure after contact with King.

Pic continued leading the race, until the final lap, when Evans took the lead going into turn one and maintained it all through the chequered flag.

The French driver tried hard to take back the lead, but the Kiwi driver had it all covered to pick up his first win of the 2015 season.

Earlier, Evans had dispatched fellow Kiwi Stanaway for second before making a move on Pic. Championship leader Stoffel Vandoorne also moved past the Status driver to complete the podium and maintain his healthy lead in the championship.

Stanaway finished fourth while Rapax's Sergey Sirotkin made it up to fifth, having started 20th after a collision on Saturday.

The Russian driver was overtaking fellow rivals one by one in today's even, including a fantastic three-way pass over Rio Haryanto (Campos) and Raffaele Marciello (Trident) on the straight.

Finishing sixth was Sergio Canamasas who had a rocketing start to fifth from 11th on the grid. He was overtaken by Sirotkin in the dying stages of the race.

The top 10 was completed by Marciello at seventh, MP Motorsport's Rene Binder eighth, Artem Markelov (Russian Time) ninth and Carlin's Julian Leal 10th.

Championship contender Alexander Rossi (Racing Engineering) suffered a retirement after he was taken out by Rapax's Robert Visoiu in the second chicane, which brought out the safety car.

Starting from the pitlane, DAMS drivers Alex Lynn and Pierre Gasly were 11th and 13th.

Pos   Driver  Team  Time/Gap 
Mitch Evans RUSSIAN TIME 34'17.890 
Arthur Pic Campos Racing 0.707
Stoffel Vandoorne ART Grand Prix 1.066
Richie Stanaway Status Grand Prix 7.623
Sergey Sirotkin Rapax 8.871
Sergio Canamasas Daiko Team Lazarus 11.895
Raffaelle Marciello Trident 12.150
Rene Binder MP Motorsport 13.241
Artem Markelov RUSSIAN TIME 13.625
10  Julian Leal Carlin 14.352
11  Alex Lynn DAMS 14.502
12  Rio Haryanto Campos Racing 15.250
13  Pierre Gasly DAMS 15.672
14  Johnny Cecotto Jr. Trident 17.686
15  Nobuharu Matsushita ART Grand Prix 22.464
16  Simon Trummer Hilmer Motorsport 23.094
17  Patric Niederhauser Daiko Team Lazarus 25.186
18  Andre Negrao Arden International 25.570
19  Marlon Stockinger Status Grand Prix 26.228
20  Jann Mardenborough Carlin 35.277
Robert Visoiu Rapax  
Alexander Rossi Racing Engineering  
Jordan King Racing Engineering  
Norman Nato Arden International
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series FIA F2
Event Monza
Track Monza
Drivers Mitch Evans
Article type Race report