Latifi tops Day 2 of Abu Dhabi test for DAMS

Latifi tops Day 2 of Abu Dhabi test for DAMS
Dec 3, 2015, 5:13 PM

Canadian racer Nicholas Latifi was the quickest driver on the second day of GP2's three-day post-season test at Yas Marina.

Nicholas Latifi, DAMS
Norman Nato, ART Grand Prix
Alex Lynn, DAMS
Alex Lynn, DAMS
Richie Stanaway, Carlin
Pierre Gasly, RUSSIAN TIME
Artem Markelov, RUSSIAN TIME
Oliver Rowland, Prema Racing
Mitch Evans, Campos Racing

Latifi, running for perennial frontrunners DAMS, posted his best time of 1m47.860s in the afternoon - and, in doing so, narrowly surpassed the Day 1 benchmark of ART's Nobuharu Matsushita.

The Canadian was close to completing a sweep of the day's two sessions, but was denied by 0.017s in the morning, losing out to Russian Time's Artem Markelov.

Andre Negrao, driving for Rapax, was a tenth off of Markelov in third and had Richie Stanaway and Pierre Gasly within another tenth of his time.

In the afternoon, Latifi took over at the front for good and would be the only driver to surpass the 1m48s mark.

Norman Nato moved up to second for ART late on, demoting Sergey Sirotkin to third, as Alex Lynn and Nick Yelloly made up the top five.

Campos Racing's new signing Mitch Evans ended his first day with the team in ninth, while Jimmy Eriksson was the top rookie in 11th.

GP2 test times (Day 2):

Pos. Driver Team AM PM
1 Nicholas Latifi DAMS 1:49.025 1:47.860
2 Norman Nato ART Grand Prix 1:49.318 1:48.035
3 Sergey Sirotkin Rapax 1:49.570 1:48.108
4 Alex Lynn DAMS 1:53.358 1:48.265
5 Nick Yelloly MP Motorsport 1:49.270 1:48.297
6 Andre Negrao Rapax 1:49.103 1:48.347
7 Pierre Gasly Russian Time 1:49.205 1:48.356
8 Artem Markelov Russian Time 1:49.008 1:48.691
9 Mitch Evans Campos Racing 1:49.910 1:48.696
10 Jordan King Racing Engineering 1:49.717 1:48.754
11 Jimmy Eriksson Arden International 1:49.695 1:48.769
12 Marlon Stockinger ART Grand Prix 1:49.991 1:48.887
13 Dean Stoneman Carlin 1:49.596 1:49.060
14 Alex Fontana Status Grand Prix 1:49.392 1:49.119
15 Richie Stanaway Carlin 1:49.137 No Time
16 Oliver Rowland Prema Racing 1:50.347 1:49.156
17 Richard Gonda MP Motorsport 1:50.362 1:49.278
18 Felix Rosenqvist Prema Racing 1:50.461 1:49.296
19 Antonio Giovinazzi Carlin No Time 1:49.363
20 Gustav Malja Arden International 1:49.895 1:49.378
21 Sean Gelael Campos Racing 1:50.375 1:49.549
22 Luca Ghiotto Racing Engineering 1:49.614 1:49.570
23 Artur Janosz Trident 1:50.807 1:49.759
24 Patric Armand Status Grand Prix 1:51.667 1:50.834
25 Zoel Amberg Trident 1:52.192 No Time


Next article
GP2 to run new Formula 2 series

Previous article

GP2 to run new Formula 2 series

Next article

Matsushita ends GP2 post-season test on top

Matsushita ends GP2 post-season test on top
Load comments
Be first to get
breaking news