Hungary GP2: Lynn beats Vandoorne to maiden pole

Alex Lynn secured his first career GP2 pole in qualifying at the Hungaroring, narrowly eclipsing Stoffel Vandoorne for the top spot by just 0.019s.

Practice pacesetter Vandoorne seemed nailed on for a fourth pole of the season early in the session, setting the pace during the first runs with a 1m28.258s before improving to a 1m28.041s, two tenths clear of nearest challenger Raffaele Marciello.

Williams development driver Lynn at this stage found himself down in eighth place, 0.763s shy of Vandoorne, but after the field came into the pits following their initial runs, Lynn and DAMS teammate Pierre Gasly were both sent back out while the track was relatively clear.

While Gasly, fifth quickest early on, could only find a marginal improvement, Lynn was able to shave over eight tenths off his previous best to move to the top of the leaderboard.

Vandoorne then tried in vain to wrest back the top spot in the closing stages, failing to improve on his earlier benchmark, and was forced to settle for a spot on the front row beside Lynn.

Arthur Pic jumped up to third ahead of Marciello in the dying stages with a time just 0.132s off the pace, with Gasly ending up fifth ahead of another late improver in the shape of Jordan King.

Rio Haryanto was seventh fastest, ahead of Mitch Evans, Sergey Sirotkin and Nick Yelloly, while Alexander Rossi could do no better than 11th with a time 0.785s off the pace.

Nicholas Latifi managed to lap within a second of the pace to secure 12th place for his GP2 debut, with fellow newcomer Sean Gelael languishing down in 24th place.

Qualifying Results:

Pos Driver Team Time Gap
1 Alex Lynn DAMS 1:28.022  
2 Stoffel Vandoorne ART Grand Prix 1:28.041 0.019
3 Arthur Pic Campos Racing 1:28.154 0.132
4 Raffaele Marciello Trident 1:28.272 0.250
5 Pierre Gasly DAMS 1:28.361 0.339
6 Jordan King Racing Engineering 1:28.471 0.449
7 Rio Haryanto Campos Racing 1:28.538 0.516
8 Mitch Evans RUSSIAN TIME 1:28.608 0.586
9 Sergey Sirotkin Rapax 1:28.685 0.663
10 Nick Yelloly Hilmer Motorsport 1:28.782 0.760
11 Alexander Rossi Racing Engineering 1:28.807 0.785
12 Nicholas Latifi MP Motorsport 1:28.940 0.918
13 Andre Negrao Arden International 1:28.957 0.935
14 Richie Stanaway Status Grand Prix 1:29.038 1.016
15 Robert Visoiu Rapax 1:29.079 1.057
16 Daniel De Jong MP Motorsport 1:29.128 1.106
17 Artem Markelov RUSSIAN TIME 1:29.198 1.176
18 Nathanael Berthon Daiko Team Lazarus 1:29.234 1.212
19 Sergio Canamasas Hilmer Motorsport 1:29.315 1.293
20 Julian Leal Carlin 1:29.351 1.329
21 Nobuharu Matsushita ART Grand Prix 1:29.635 1.613
22 Norman Nato Arden International 1:29.641 1.619
23 Marlon Stockinger Status Grand Prix 1:29.665 1.643
24 Sean Gelael Carlin 1:29.803 1.781
25 Rene Binder Trident 1:29.811 1.789

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series FIA F2
Event Hungaroring
Track Hungaroring
Drivers Stoffel Vandoorne
Article type Qualifying report