Sign up for free

  • Get quick access to your favorite articles

  • Manage alerts on breaking news and favorite drivers

  • Make your voice heard with article commenting.

Motorsport prime

Discover premium content


Race report
FIA F2 Monte Carlo

F2 Monaco: Vesti wins red-flagged feature race

Frederik Vesti took his second Formula 2 feature race win of the season in Monaco, surviving a rolling restart after Jack Doohan’s fiery crash caused a red flag.

Frederik Vesti (DNK, Prema Racing)

The Prema Racing driver, in his second F2 season, took a lights-to-flag win to repeat his success in Saudi Arabia.

The race was red flagged after a crash from Invicta Virtuosi driver Doohan at Turn 3 saw his car burst into flames, prompting a clean-up operation which stalled action for 20 minutes.

Vesti crossed the line 2.5s clear of second-placed Theo Pourchaire, who faces a post-race investigation for a pitlane infringement.

Rodin Carlin rookie Zane Maloney finished third for his second podium of the season.

The top three stayed the same into Turn 1, despite Theo Pourchaire initially losing ground to Jack Doohan before getting back ahead.

MP Motorsport’s Jehan Daruvala lost out on the start to Red Bull juniors Ayumu Iwasa (DAMS) and Isack Hadjar of Hitech, dropping to 10th.

Further back, Oliver Bearman made up two places on the first lap in his Prema, passing Amaury Cordeel (Invicta Virtuosi) and MP Motorsport’s Dennis Hauger for 12th.

Cordeel continued to fall down the order before retiring on lap three.

By lap five, Vesti had built a one-second gap to Martins, with another 2.6s between the two ART cars.

Iwasa and Hadjar were embroiled in a fierce fight for eighth, with the Japanese driver holding firm despite the challenge.

Clement Novalak (Trident) and Campos’ Ralph Boschung were first to pit on lap seven, switching from the super softs to the soft Pirelli compound.

Heartbreak came for home favourite Arthur Leclerc the following tour as he lost brakes on his DAMS, cutting the Nouvelle Chicane before crawling back to the pits.

The stops continued over the next few laps, with Jak Crawford leading the stoppers for Hitech as Iwasa and Hadjar followed suit.

By the third-distance mark, Vesti led by 3.3s, with another 4.6s between Martins and Pourchaire.

Bearman pitted from ninth on lap 15 and came out ahead of Iwasa, but with suboptimal tyre temperatures, was passed again at the hairpin by the DAMS driver, who slotted behind Crawford to run second of the stoppers.

Enzo Fittipaldi was next to retire, with a huge plume of smoke emerging from his Rodin Carlin as he stopped at the Nouvelle Chicane and retired, prompting a virtual safety car.

Drama ensued on lap 22 as Jack Doohan, who had earlier contracted a broken front wing, spun out of fourth place at Turn 3, hitting the wall before his Invicta Virtuosi car burst into flames and prompted a red flag.

The Australian had clipped the wall at the swimming pool section, continuing up the road before the incident which ended his race. Zane Maloney, who had been running behind him for Rodin Carlin, had a near miss but took evasive action.

Trident’s Roman Stanek, who had yet to stop before the red flag, was the biggest beneficiary, having started 22nd before climbing through the field during the opening stages to sit eighth when action resumed.

Dennis Hauger similarly made strong progress, sitting sixth on the restart having begun the race in 17th.

Action resumed 20 minutes later after a clean-up operation, with Vesti maintaining his lead.

Martins, who had been running in second, was then hit with a drive-through penalty for failing to slow down for yellow flags, dropping him to eighth and promoting Maloney onto the podium.

Richard Verschoor finished fourth for Van Amersfoort Racing, with Hauger in fifth and Campos Racing rookie Kush Maini in sixth.

Stanek was seventh, with Martins, Crawford and Iwasa rounding off the top 10.

F2 Monaco - Feature race results:

Cla # Driver Gap
1 7 Denmark Frederik Vesti  
2 5 France Theo Pourchaire 2.500
3 3 Barbados Zane Maloney 15.500
4 22 Netherlands Richard Verschoor 21.600
5 1 Norway Dennis Hauger 22.300
6 24 India Kush Maini 25.300
7 20 Czech Republic Roman Staněk 27.300
8 6 France Victor Martins 27.600
9 9 United States Jak Crawford 42.000
10 11 Japan Ayumu Iwasa 44.300
11 8 United Kingdom Oliver Bearman 45.200
12 10 France Isack Hadjar 46.000
13 2 India Jehan Daruvala 54.500
14 23 United States Juan Manuel Correa 57.600
15 16 Israel Roy Nissany 1'12.000
16 17 United States Brad Benavides 1'12.400
17 21 France Clement Novalak 1'12.800
  25 Switzerland Ralph Boschung  
  14 Australia Jack Doohan  
  15 Belgium Amaury Cordeel  
  4 Brazil Enzo Fittipaldi  
  12 Monaco Arthur Leclerc  

Be part of Motorsport community

Join the conversation
Previous article F2 Monaco: Iwasa dominates for third win this season
Next article Doohan couldn't get buckle loose in fiery Monaco F2 crash

Top Comments

There are no comments at the moment. Would you like to write one?

Sign up for free

  • Get quick access to your favorite articles

  • Manage alerts on breaking news and favorite drivers

  • Make your voice heard with article commenting.

Motorsport prime

Discover premium content