Abu Dhabi GP2: Gasly leads ART duo in practice

Red Bull junior driver Pierre Gasly continued a rich run of form by heading the free practice session for the GP2 finale at Yas Marina.

Gasly, who denied champion Stoffel Vandoorne in the battle for pole in two of the last three events, eased to the top of the first Abu Dhabi session, leading for most of the way.

And it was Vandoorne who followed him closest here, clocking in at just a tenth behind - with the Belgian's teammate Nobuharu Matsushita standing as best of the rest a full half a second down.

Racing Engineering's Alexander Rossi prevented a lockout of the first two rows by DAMS and ART by placing fourth, just ahead of Gasly's teammate Alex Lynn.

Mitch Evans took sixth, ahead of Jordan King, Raffaele Marciello, Norman Nato and Arthur Pic.

Practice results:

Pos. Driver Team Time Gap
 Pierre Gasly DAMS 1'49.349  
 Stoffel Vandoorne ART Grand Prix 1'49.483 0.134
 Nobuharu Matsushita ART Grand Prix 1'49.860 0.511
 Alexander Rossi Racing Engineering 1'50.021 0.672
 Alex Lynn DAMS 1'50.056 0.707
 Mitch Evans RUSSIAN TIME 1'50.270 0.921
 Jordan King Racing Engineering 1'50.288 0.939
 Raffaele Marciello Trident 1'50.390 1.041
 Norman Nato Arden International 1'50.521 1.172
10   Arthur Pic Campos Racing 1'50.631 1.282
11   Andre Negrao Arden International 1'50.680 1.331
12   Rio Haryanto Campos Racing 1'50.795 1.446
13   Sergey Sirotkin Rapax 1'50.825 1.476
14   Artem Markelov RUSSIAN TIME 1'51.048 1.699
15   Sergio Canamasas Daiko Team Lazarus 1'51.057 1.708
16   Dean Stoneman Carlin 1'51.070 1.721
17   Rene Binder MP Motorsport 1'51.094 1.745
18   Nicholas Latifi MP Motorsport 1'51.110 1.761
19   Oliver Rowland Status Grand Prix 1'51.158 1.809
20   Marlon Stockinger Status Grand Prix 1'51.504 2.155
21   Daniel de Jong Trident 1'52.107 2.758
22   Gustav Malja Rapax 1'52.873 3.524
23   Sean Gelael Carlin 1'53.403 4.054
24   Nathanael Berthon Daiko Team Lazarus 1'53.876 4.527
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series FIA F2
Event Yas Marina
Track Yas Marina Circuit
Drivers Stoffel Vandoorne , Pierre Gasly , Nobuharu Matsushita
Teams DAMS
Article type Practice report