USA: Denver round 11 race summary

Hinchcliffe scores second win-in-a-row Denver, Colo. - Aug. 14, 2004-- Saving his best effort for the last lap of the race and taking advantage of a missed turn by Andreas Wirth on lap 12, James Hinchcliffe (AIM Autosport) won his second...

Hinchcliffe scores second win-in-a-row

Denver, Colo. - Aug. 14, 2004-- Saving his best effort for the last lap of the race and taking advantage of a missed turn by Andreas Wirth on lap 12, James Hinchcliffe (AIM Autosport) won his second Formula BMW USA race in a row in today's Round 11 contest. Hinchcliffe completed 20 laps of the 1.657-mile Denver temporary street circuit in the 30-minute race, finishing 1.163 seconds ahead of the No. 5 of Matt Jaskol. Championship points leader Andreas Wirth recovered from his off-course to finish third. Wirth was credited with the fastest lap of the race (1:15.758, lap 12).

Wirth took control of the race on the opening lap and as the 13-car field crossed the start-finish line to complete lap 12 he held a 1.6 second lead on Hinchcliffe. He spun into the tires entering turn 1, but was able to extricate his FB2 and continue in third. Jaskol closed up behind Hinchcliffe and the two raced nose-to-tail for the remainder of the race. Jaskol tried a last lap move, but was unsuccessful. Further back in the field Graham Rahal and Jonathan Summerton had a race-long battle for the fourth and fifth spots with Rahal ultimately finishing fourth, equalling his previous best finish of the season in Round 9.

Wirth continues to lead the Championship points. The win moves Hinchcliffe into second. Summerton stands third, Jaskol fourth and Billy Johnson fifth.

The top-finishing Rookies were Hinchcliffe (P1), Rahal (P4) and Summerton (P5). Hinchcliffe still leads the Rookie Points. Summerton is second, Milner third, Rahal fourth and Sutherland fifth.

"I had a very good car at the beginning of the race," said Hinchcliffe. "But I knew that it would be tough to catch Andreas. Luckily, he made a mistake so I focused on driving as hard as was needed to stay ahead of Matt. I have the pole and two new tires for tomorrow's race so I am looking forward to Round 12.

"Sunday has been my victory day this season", said Round 4 and 6 winner Jaskol. "We need a little luck tomorrow and maybe I can get another Sunday win. There are only three rounds left and I am still in the race for the Championship."

Preserving his string of 11 consecutive top-five finishes, including three wins, Wirth said, "My start was good and I made a gap between myself and James. I made a mistake and hit the tires. I got the car back out and held third position so I am very happy."

The Round 12 race is scheduled to start at 3:30 p.m. tomorrow.

<pre> Race 11 - Results 20 laps: 1. James Hinchcliffe (R) (AIM Autosport) 25:33.281 (77.810 mph) 2. Matt Jaskol (Team Autotecnica) 25:34.444 3. Andreas Wirth (HBR Motorsport) 25:44.190 4. Graham Rahal (R) (Vitesse Farm Racing) 25:44.695 5. Jonathan Summerton (R) (HBR Motorsport) 25:46.843 6. Tom Milner (R) (Team PTG Motorsport) 25:50.047 7. Lawson Aschenbach (Team PTG Motorsport) 25:51.083 8. Billy Johnson (Team PTG Motorsport) 25:56.610 9. Kyle Herder (Atlantic Racing Team) 25:59.151 10. Brian Frisselle (PoleVision Racing) 26:02.305 11. Tom Sutherland (R) (Team PTG Motorsport) 26:06.835 12. Alexis Fenton (R) (Team Autotecnica) 25:51.888 13. Derek Burseth (R) (PoleVision Racing) 18:05.184

Championship points after 11 of 14 races: 1. Andreas Wirth HBR Motorsport 159 2. James Hinchcliffe AIM Autosport 142 3. Jonathan Summerton HBR Motorsport 131 4. Matt Jaskol Team Autotecnica 116 5. Billy Johnson Team PTG Motorsport 73 6. Brian Frisselle PoleVision Racing 63 7. Tom Milner Team PTG Motorsport 43 8. Graham Rahal Vitesse Farm Racing 37 9. Lawson Aschenbach Team PTG Motorsport 26 10. Joey Hand Team PTG Motorsport 22 11. Kyle Herder Atlantic Racing Team 21 12. Dominik Jackson Atlantic Racing Team 20 13. Federico Montoya Atlantic Racing Team 10 14. Tom Sutherland Team PTG Motorsport 9 15. Gerardo Bonilla Jensen Motorsport 8 16. Trevor Daley Atlantic Racing Team 4 17. Robbie Montinola Jensen Motorsport 2 18. Daniel Herrington Jensen Motorsport 2 19. Alan Sciuto Team PTG Motorsport 1 20. Derek Burseth PoleVision Racing 1 21. Alexis Fenton Team Autotecnica 0 22. Mogan Spurgas Jensen Motorsport 0

Rookies: 1. James Hinchcliffe 180 2. Jonathan Summerton 163 3. Tom Milner 115 4. Graham Rahal 105 5.Tom Sutherland 81 6. Alexis Fenton 47 7. Derek Burseth 42 8. Federico Montoya 32 9. Trevor Daley 26 10. Alan Sciuto 16 11. Daniel Herrington 14


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula BMW
Drivers Graham Rahal , Joey Hand , Lawson Aschenbach , Trevor Daley , Kyle Herder , Billy Johnson , Brian Frisselle , Andreas Wirth , Daniel Herrington , Alan Sciuto , Derek Burseth , Tom Sutherland , James Hinchcliffe , Gerardo Bonilla , Jonathan Summerton , Matt Jaskol , Robbie Montinola