Series newsletter 2009-10-15

Nasr celebrates double victory in Singapore. It was a perfect weekend for Eurointernational's Felipe Nasr (BR): the Brazilian made a guest appearance in the Formula BMW Pacific series in Singapore at the end of September and won both races from...

Nasr celebrates double victory in Singapore.

It was a perfect weekend for Eurointernational's Felipe Nasr (BR): the Brazilian made a guest appearance in the Formula BMW Pacific series in Singapore at the end of September and won both races from pole position. Nasr lined up as a guest driver at the "Marina Bay Circuit" and set out to impress in rounds 11 and 12 of the season.

In the first race of the weekend, the podium line-up was completed by championship leader Rio Haryanto (ID) from Questnet Team Qi-Meritus and James Kovacic (AU/Eurointernational) in second and third respectively. Kovacic had raced in the Formula BMW Americas series in 2009. After a hectic start with a subsequent safety car phase, Nasr dictated the pace with ease and celebrated a lights-to-flag victory, finishing 4.22 seconds ahead of Haryanto in second. In the second round, Eurointernational's 400th Formula BMW race, Formula BMW Americas Rookie Cup winner Michael Lewis (US) and Kovacic picked up another two podium finishes for their team: however, victory was never in doubt for Nasr, who crossed the finish line 2.069 seconds ahead of Lewis.

"I'm really grateful to be here this weekend," said Nasr after his double success, which came on the support programme for the Singapore Grand Prix. "It has been a great week for the team and me and to have three Eurointernational cars here on the podium is very good."

Thrilling finish to final Formula BMW title of 2009.

Following the spectacular races in Singapore, Formula BMW Pacific now enters the final straight in the race for the title. As no points were awarded to guest starters at the "Marina Bay Circuit", Rio Haryanto (Questnet Team Qi-Meritus) extended his lead in the Drivers' Championship. After 12 out of 15 races he now has 188 points to his name -- 33 more than his closest rival Gary Thompson (IR/E-Rain Racing), who had to make do with 5th and 11th in Singapore. Haryanto, on the other hand, picked up maximum points in both races on the narrow street circuit. In the rookie standings, Thompson and Formula BMW Junior Axcil Jefferies (ZW/Eurasia Motorsport) are involved in a two-man battle for the title. The Irishman currently lies 14 points ahead of Jefferies.

The title will be decided over the remaining three races in Okayama (JP) and Macau (MO). In Japan, Formula BMW Pacific will feature on the support programme for the World Touring Car Championship on 31st October/1st November. In addition, spectators at the former Formula One race track will witness two races from the Asian Le Mans Series, in which the BMW Rahal Letterman Racing Team will line up with a BMW M3 GT2. Furthermore, the BMW national team drivers will be doing their utmost to travel to the WTCC season finale in a good position. The final race of the year will take place as part of the F3 Grand Prix (20th to 22nd November) at the "Guia Circuit" in Macau. The Formula BMW Pacific youngsters will once again feature on the same bill as the BMW national team drivers in the World Touring Car Championship at arguably the most challenging circuit in the world.

Juniors announced for 2010 Formula BMW Pacific.

The Formula BMW Juniors for the forthcoming Formula BMW Pacific season have been announced: 17-year-old Australian Jesse Dixon and 15-year-old Kotaro Sakurai from Japan will enjoy BMW Motorsport support in 2010. They will receive a financial help of 50,000 Euros and take part in the BMW Motorsport Education and Coaching Programme.

The annual scholarship courses took place on 1st and 2nd September at the "Sepang International Circuit" on the outskirts of Kuala Lumpur (MY). Under the guidance of the BMW Motorsport instructors, many participants gained their first experience at the wheel of a single-seater. As well as judging their ability on the track, the instructors also got an idea of how motivated the talented youngsters are and of their potential for a successful career in international motor racing.

Dixon's 19-year-old compatriot Jordan Oon, Sandy Stuvik (TH) and Caleb Williams (ZA) were nominated as reserve awardees should the winners of the trials not be able to accept their scholarships.

Formula BMW Alumni round-up.

- Misfortune for Simona de Silvestro (IT) and Jonathan Summerton (US): in the Atlantic Championship, the two former Formula BMW participants still had a chance of clinching the title as they travelled to the season finale at Laguna Seca (US). Ultimately, however, it was John Michael Edwards (US) who secured overall victory. De Silvestro collided with another former Formula BMW driver, Markus Niemela (FI), in the infamous Corkscrew bend as early as on the first lap. She finished the race in tenth, finishing the season in third place overall. Summerton crossed the line in second, giving him the same number of points (182) as Edwards. Both drivers had four race victories to their names, so the title was decided by the number of runner-up finishes. Edwards just had his nose ahead in this statistic.

- No less than 15 former Formula BMW drivers were in action at the first winter tests for the 2010 GP2 season: 2007 Formula BMW UK Championship winner Marcus Ericsson (SE) made a particularly good impression. In Jerez, in southern Spain, the 19-year-old clocked the best time of 1:25.970 minutes on the last of the three test days.

- Ahead of his GP2 test, Marcus Ericsson had secured victory in the Japanese Formula 3 championship. He won the final race of the series at the end of September in Sugo (JP) to notch up 112 points for the season and clinch overall victory ahead of Takuto Iguchi (JP/103). Ericsson had been two points behind his team-mate after the first race in Sugo.

-credit: fbmw

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula BMW
Drivers Michael Lewis , Simona de Silvestro , Jonathan Summerton , Marcus Ericsson , Markus Niemela , Takuto Iguchi , Axcil Jefferies , Rio Haryanto , Gary Thompson , James Kovacic , Felipe Nasr , Jordan Oon , Jesse Dixon , Kotaro Sakurai , Sandy Stuvik
Teams Williams