Sergio Sette Camara claims pole position for Masters of Formula 3 qualifying race

Sergio Sette Camara secured pole position for the qualifying race of the Masters of Formula 3 at Circuit Park Zandvoort, beating Antonio Giovinazzi by a narrow margin.

For the first time in the event's history, organisers have copied the famous Macau F3 format with a session that will determine the grid positions for the Saturday race. The outcome of that race will be the running order for the one-hour main event on Sunday.

The drivers started the 30-minute qualifying session on a mostly dry track, which resulted in improved laps every time the 18 pilots completed the 4.3km course.

In the absence of two-time Masters of Formula 3 winner Felix Rosenqvist, all eyes were on current European F3 points runner-up Giovinazzi. The Italian set a clear benchmark halfway through the session before the drivers pitted to acquire a fresh set of tyres.

Markus Pommer was first to better Giovinazzi's time at the Dutch track, but didn't hold provisional pole for long. The German got first beaten by his rival by just 0.071 seconds and, in the final two minutes, Pommer's teammate Sette Camara lapped even quicker and secured pole position.

“Since practice yesterday we knew we would be competitive, so it’s not a big surprise to qualify at the front,” said Sette Camara. “There were still some wet parts on the track, but the balance of the car was perfect and we managed to squeeze a good lap at the end of the session.”

British driver George Russell qualified in fourth position, ahead of Van Amersfoort Racing drivers Alessio Lorandi and Arjun Maini.

The qualifying race over 12 laps takes place on Saturday afternoon.

The race on Sunday, meanwhile, will last a full hour and will determine who’ll become the 25th ‘Master of Formula 3’ and will be following in the footsteps of Lewis Hamilton, Nico Hulkenberg, Valtteri Bottas, Felix Rosenqvist and last year’s winner Max Verstappen.

Qualifying results:

Pos. Driver Team Time Gap
Sergio Sette Camara Motopark 1'31.281  
Antonio Giovinazzi Carlin 1'31.343 0.062
Markus Pommer Motopark 1'31.414 0.133
George Russell Carlin 1'31.641 0.360
Alessio Lorandi Van Amersfoort Racing 1'31.690 0.409
Arjun Maini Van Amersfoort Racing 1'31.803 0.522
Sam MacLeod Motopark 1'31.951 0.670
Nabil Jeffri Motopark 1'32.041 0.760
Callum Ilott Carlin 1'32.049 0.768
10  Raoul Hyman West-Tec 1'32.050 0.769
11  Ryan Tveter Carlin 1'32.146 0.865
12  Pietro Fittipaldi Fortec 1'32.404 1.123
13  Felix Serralles Jo Zeller Racing 1'32.421 1.140
14  Dennis Olsen T-Sport 1'32.561 1.280
15  Julio Moreno T-Sport 1'32.756 1.475
16  Yarin Stern West-Tec 1'33.002 1.721
17  Mahaveer Raghunathan Motopark 1'33.199 1.918
18  Zhi Cong Li Fortec 1'33.472 2.191
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series F3
Event Masters of F3
Track Zandvoort
Drivers Markus Pommer , Antonio Giovinazzi , Sergio Sette Camara
Teams Motopark
Article type Qualifying report