Norris heads smallest-ever Macau F3 entry

European Formula 3 champion Lando Norris tops a depleted entry list for next month’s Macau Grand Prix, in which just 22 cars will compete.

The field is a record low for Macau since it switched to F3 rules in 1983 – that first year, 25 cars were hastily scrambled together, but in the 33 years since then there have always been at least 28 entries. 

This year’s race is the first to be held without any input from long-time Macau GP coordinator Barry Bland, who stood down from organisation duties in late summer 2016, when much of the entry had already been put in place, and passed away in July this year.

Norris spearheads a five-car attack from Carlin, which bids to follow up its 2016 victory with Antonio Felix da Costa.

The 17-year-old McLaren protege is joined by regular European F3 teammates Jehan Daruvala and Ferdinand Habsburg, late-season newcomer Devlin DeFrancesco and Formula Renault Eurocup points leader Sacha Fenestraz, who made his F3 debut with Carlin at the Nurburgring.

Series runner-up Joel Eriksson leads the Motopark squad, and is joined by F2 race winner Sergio Sette Camara, who finished on the Macau podium with Carlin last year.

Prema Powerteam takes its usual four European F3 drivers from 2017: Ferrari juniors Callum Ilott and Guan Yu Zhou, Mercedes protege Maximilian Gunther and Mick Schumacher.

Hitech GP has pulled out of Macau, leaving Ralf Aron and Honda junior Tadasuke Makino to find alternative berths at Van Amersfoort Racing and Motopark respectively.

Further Motopark interest lies with Red Bull junior Dan Ticktum, who makes his second visit to Macau after being a race winner this season in Formula Renault Eurocup and starring in late-season GP3 outings.

Japanese F3 champion Mitsunori Takaboshi is not on the entry list, but the B-Max squad with which he has raced this season will field Super Formula drivers Yuhi Sekiguchi and Kenta Yamashita.

B-Max will also field a car for its 50-year-old team principal Ryuji Kumita, who races under the pseudonym of ‘Dragon’.

Macau GP entry list:

Team (Engine)Drivers
Carlin (VW)

 Lando Norris

 Jehan Daruvala

 Ferdinand Habsburg

 Sacha Fenestraz

 Devlin DeFrancesco

Prema (Mercedes)

 Callum Ilott

 Guan Yu Zhou

 Maximilian Gunther

 Mick Schumacher

TOM'S (Toyota)

 Sho Tsuboi

 Ritomo Miyata

Motopark (VW)

 Joel Eriksson

 Tadasuke Makino

 Marino Sato

 Dan Ticktum

 Sergio Sette Camara

Drago Corse (Tomei/ThreeBond)  Alex Palou
B-Max (VW)

 Kenta Yamashita

 Yuhi Sekiguchi


Van Amersfoort (Mercedes)

 Ralf Aron

 Pedro Piquet

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series F3
Event Macau GP
Track Circuito da Guia
Drivers Lando Norris
Article type Breaking news