Lynn triumphs in tense Macau Grand Prix

Alex Lynn showed nerves of steel to take his first win in Macau at just his second attempt.

Alex Lynn won the 2013 running of the Star River●Windsor Arch Formula 3 Macau Grand Prix, leading home António Félix da Costa in a tense encounter.

Winner Alex Lynn
Winner Alex Lynn

Photo by: XPB Images

Barely more than a second covered the pair throughout the second half of the race, Lynn showing nerves of steel to take his first win in Macau at just his second attempt.

“I can’t really put it into words,” said the Theodore Racing by Prema driver.

“I’ve dreamed of winning this race and ever since I left here finishing third [last year]. All I wanted to do is come back here and win and I can’t believe I’ve actually done it.”

Carlin driver da Costa, who won the race 12 months ago, started fourth, but quickly found himself in third when Felix Rosenqvist retired on the first lap. He then slipped past Pipo Derani on the run to Lisboa following an early re-start, but was unable to overhaul the leader, despite closing the gap in the second half of the race.

Derani wound up finishing third, but it took a little bit of good fortune. The Fortec driver had just been passed and gapped by Prema Powerteam’s Raffaele Marciello, only for the Italian to crash out of the race at R Bend four laps from the end.

A pair of Britons were next, Alexander Sims (ThreeBond with T-Sport) leading home Carlin’s Jordan King – who was not only the best-placed rookie at the end of the event, but set the fastest lap of the race with a 2m11.547s.

Jazeman Jaafar was next, ahead of Carlin team-mate Carlos Sainz Junior, and Fortec driver Tom Blomqvist. Nicholas Latifi (Carlin) and Esteban Ocon (Prema Powerteam) rounded out the Top 10.

The race featured just one safety car period, sparked when Lucas Auer (Theodore Racing by Prema), John Bryant-Meisner (Fortec) and Sean Gelael (Double R Racing) all hit the wall at the exit of Mandarin.

Macau Grand Prix

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series F3
Drivers Carlos Sainz , Jazeman Jaafar , Alexander Sims , Antonio Felix da Costa , Felix Rosenqvist , Pipo Derani , Jordan King , Tom Blomqvist , Alex Lynn , Raffaele Marciello , Sean Gelael , Lucas Auer , Nicholas Latifi , John Bryant-Meisner , Esteban Ocon
Teams Carlin
Article type Race report
Tags f3, felix da costa, lynn, macau, rosenqvist, sims