Starting grid for Macau GP Qualification Race

Lynne Waite and Stella-Maria Thomas, F3 Correspondents

Marco Wittmann
Marco Wittmann

Photo by: Stella-Maria Thomas

After all the penalties have been applied, here’s what the grid for the qualification race now looks like, Roberto Merhi (Prema Powerteam) has been penalised 7 grid places for causing a collision with Felix Rosenqvist (Mücke Motorsport), while Rosenqvist and Kevin Magnussen (Carlin) will start from the back row for ignoring yellow flags. The other penalties – for Laurens Vanthoor (Signature), Daniel Juncadella (Prema Powerteam), Carlos Sainz Jr. (Signature), Carlos Munoz (Signature) and Marko Asmer (Double R Racing) – are all 3 grid places for crossing the pit exit line with the exception of Hironobu Yasuda who did it twice and thus has a penalty of 6 grid places – except that he qualified last so he’s actually starting ahead of Mitch Evans (Double R Racing) and Jimmy Eriksson (Motopark) neither of whom set times in the dry session, and of course Rosenqvist and Magnussen. Makes sense?

Qualification Race Grid:

Grid No. Name Nationality Team Car
1 1 Marco Wittmann GER Signature Dallara-Volkswagen
2 22 Antonio Felix da Costa POR Hitech Racing Dallara-Volkswagen
3 26 Valtteri Bottas FIN Galaxy Double R Racing Dallara-Mercedes
4 15 Alexander Sims GBR TOM's Dallara-Toyota
5 7 Felipe Nasr BRA Carlin Dallara-Volkswagen
6 9 Carlos Huertas COL Carlin Dallara-Volkswagen
7 20 Yuhi Sekiguchi JPN Mücke Motorsport Dallara-Mercedes
8 11 Roberto Merhi ESP Prema Powerteam Dallara-Mercedes #
9 2 Laurens Vanthoor BEL Signature Dallara-Volkswagen *
10 28 Kimiya Sato JPN Motopark Dallara-Volkswagen
11 12 Daniel Juncadella ESP Prema Powerteam Dallara-Mercedes *
12 25 Marko Asmer EST Galaxy Double R Racing Dallara-Mercedes *
13 4 Carlos Munoz COL Signature Dallara-Volkswagen *
14 21 Pietro Fantin BRA Hitech Racing Dallara-Volkswagen
15 10 Jazeman Jaafar MAL Carlin Dallara-Volkswagen
16 3 Daniel Abt GER Signature Dallara-Volkswagen
17 23 Hannes van Asseldonk NED Hitech Racing Dallara-Volkswagen
18 32 Richie Stanaway NZL Van Amersfoort Racing Dallara-Volkswagen
19 5 Carlos Sainz Jr ESP Signature Dallara-Volkswagen *
20 17 William Buller GBR Fortec Motorsport Dallara-Mercedes
21 14 Hideki Yamauchi JPN Toda racing Dallara-Honda
22 30 Hywel Lloyd GBR Sino Vision Racing Dallara-Mercedes
23 18 Lucas Foresti BRA Fortec Motorsport Dallara-Mercedes
24 16 Richard Bradley SIN TOM's Dallara-Toyota
25 29 Adderly Fong CHN Sino Vision Racing Dallara-Mercedes
26 6 Hironobu Yasuda JPN Three Bond Racing Dallara-Nissan **
27 27 Jimmy Eriksson SWE Motopark Dallara-Volkswagen
28 24 Mitch Evans NZL Double R Racing Dallara-Mercedes
29 8 Kevin Magnussen DEN Carlin Dallara-Volkswagen %
30 19 Felix Rosenqvist SWE Mücke Motorsport Dallara-Mercedes *%

Regulation infringements in previous sessions:
# 7 place grid penalty
* 3 place grid penalty
** 6 place grid penalty
% Back of the grid penalty

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series F3
Drivers Carlos Sainz , Marko Asmer , Jazeman Jaafar , Carlos Huertas , Kimiya Sato , Yuhi Sekiguchi , Marco Wittmann , Hironobu Yasuda , Daniel Juncadella , Roberto Merhi , Alexander Sims , Carlos Munoz , Valtteri Bottas , Laurens Vanthoor , Antonio Felix da Costa , Adderly Fong , Hideki Yamauchi , Felipe Nasr , Lucas Foresti , Pietro Fantin , Jimmy Eriksson , Kevin Magnussen , Carlos Sainz Jr. , Richard Bradley , Felix Rosenqvist , Daniel Abt , Hywel Lloyd , Hannes van Asseldonk , Richie Stanaway , Mitch Evans
Teams Mücke Motorsport , Carlin
Tags bottas, da costa, macau, thomas, waite, wittman