Silverstone FR3.5: Vaxiviere dominates Sunday qualifying

Formula Renault 3.5 championship contender Matthieu Vaxiviere has bolstered his chances of closing in on points leader Oliver Rowland with a dominant performance in qualifying 2 at Silverstone.

Vaxiviere ended up almost sixth tenths clear of second-placed Rowland, while Nicholas Latifi made up the top three on the grid.

Eight minutes into the session, Vaxiviere had already lowered the best time of the round thus far and, with teammate Nick Yelloly soon slotting into the second, the Lotus duo ended the first stint of flyers several tenths up on their competition.

Carlin's Tom Dillmann briefly took over out front after the mid-session lull, only for yesterday's poleman Tio Ellinas to immediately one-up him by four tenths.

But Vaxiviere was back to the top spot shortly thereafter and then strung together three purple sectors with his next lap for a time of 1m39.828.

Rowland, who sat 15th at the halfway point, managed to salvage second place, beating Yelloly, who carries a four-place grid penalty for not respecting blue flags in yesterday's race and will give up third place to Latifi.

Gustav Malja took fifth on the timing screens, just 0.002s off Latifi, but then lost his best time due to a track limits infringement. As such, it's Pietro Fantin who will join the Canadian on row two.

Ellinas and Dean Stoneman will line up fifth and sixth, ahead of the penalised Yelloly and Nyck de Vries, while Egor Orudzhev and Jazeman Jaafar made up the top ten.

Pos Driver  Team  Time  Gap   Laps 
M.Vaxiviere Lotus 1'39.828   11
Oliver Rowland Fortec Motorsports 1'40.408 0.580 13
Nick Yelloly Lotus 1'40.559 0.731 12
Nicholas Latifi Arden Motorsport 1'40.612 0.784 12
Pietro Fantin International Draco Racing 1'40.656 0.828 13
Tio Ellinas Strakka Racing 1'40.699 0.871 13
Dean Stoneman DAMS 1'40.731 0.903 13
Nyck de Vries DAMS 1'40.743 0.915 14
Egor Orudzhev Arden Motorsport 1'40.820 0.992 13
10  Jazeman Jaafar Fortec Motorsports 1'40.877 1.049 14
11  Gustav Malja Strakka Racing 1'40.898 1.070 14
12  Tom Dillmann Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 1'41.005 1.177 12
13  Aurélien Panis Tech 1 Racing 1'41.175 1.347 13
14  Roy Nissany Tech 1 Racing 1'41.479 1.651 13
15  Sean Gelael Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 1'41.676 1.848 14
16  Bruno Bonifácio International Draco Racing 1'41.804 1.976 14
17  Alfonso Celis AVF 1'41.958 2.130 10
18  Beitske Visser AVF 1'42.069 2.241 14
19  P.Paz Armand Pons Racing 1'43.005 3.177 12
20  Will Bratt Pons Racing 1'43.538 3.710 13
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula V8 3.5
Event Silverstone
Sub-event Sunday qualifying
Track Silverstone
Drivers Nick Yelloly , Matthieu Vaxiviere , Nicholas Latifi , Oliver Rowland
Article type Qualifying report