Season ten of the World Series by Renault ends in style at Jerez

58,000 spectators made their way to the Circuito de Jerez to take in the final round of the World Series by Renault.

In obtaining their titles in the Formula Renault 3.5 Series and Eurocup Clio, Spaniards Carlos Sainz and Oscar Nogues joined Dutchman Nyck de Vries in the record books of a 2014 season rich in both emotions and spectacles.

Now it is time to look towards 2015 for a new edition of the World Series by Renault, where the Renault Sport R.S. 01 will make its competition debut after its first public appearance in Andalusia!

Patrice Ratti, President of Renault Sport Technologies: “Thanks to the hospitality of the Jerez de la Frontera municipality, we enjoyed an historic and unique weekend! This tenth season concluded with a decisive weekend for two of our international championships that make up the backbone of the World Series by Renault.

Carlos Sainz in the Formula Renault 3.5 Series, Nyck de Vries in the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 and Oscar Nogues in the Eurocup Clio are three very talented drivers who shined thanks to their panache and consistency all year long. Bravo as well to their teams, DAMS, Koiranen GP and Rangoni Corse. We hope that these titles will allow them attain their future goals.

This edition has also confirmed the popular success of our event, with hundreds of thousands of spectators attending the seven rounds. This weekend was also an occasion to look to the future with the publication of the calendar and the first public demonstration of the Renault Sport R.S. 01.”

Formula Renault 3.5 Series: Carlos Sainz and DAMS crowned

Discreet during the collective tests, Carlos Sainz (DAMS) and Roberto Merhi (Zeta Corse) were also off the pace in qualifying. While Will Stevens (Strakka Racing) won from pole ahead of the Fortec Motorsports duo of Oliver Rowland Sergey Sirotkin, the elimination of Roberto Merhi on the opening lap brought the suspense of the title fight to an end. On Sunday, Roberto Merhi won the pole before receiving a penalty for blocking a competitor.

Oliver Rowland inherited the pole and went on for the win ahead of Nicholas Latifi (Tech 1 Racing) and William Buller (Arden Motorsports). Fourth place Pierre Gasly (Arden Motorsport), became the runner-up to Carlos Sainz in the general classification and also won rookie of the year honours. DAMS held on to a three point advantage from Fortec Motorsports to win a second consecutive teams title.

Race 1: 1- W. Stevens, GBR (Strakka Racing), 2- O. Rowland, GBR (Fortec Motorsports), 3- S. Sirotkin, RUS (Fortec Motorsports)…

Race 2: 1- O. Rowland, GBR (Fortec Motorsports), 2- N. Latifi, CAN (Tech 1 Racing), 3- W. Buller, GBR (Arden Motorsport)…

General classification: 1- C. Sainz 227 pts, 2- P. Gasly 192 pts, 3- R. Merhi 183 pts…

World Series by Renault

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula V8 3.5
Event Jerez
Track Circuito de Jerez
Drivers Carlos Sainz , Will Stevens , Roberto Merhi , Carlos Sainz Jr. , Sergey Sirotkin , Nicholas Latifi , Pierre Gasly , Oliver Rowland
Teams Strakka Racing , DAMS , Koiranen GP
Article type Breaking news
Tags formula renault 3.5 series