Jerez F3.5: Nissany holds off Fittipaldi to win

Roy Nissany took his first win in the 2017 Formula V8 3.5 season at Jerez after withstanding race-long pressure from Pietro Fittipaldi.

Jerez F3.5: Nissany holds off Fittipaldi to win

Nissany took advantage of poleman Egor Orudzhev bogging down at the start, and led every lap of the race.

Orudzhev narrowly held on to second at the start despite coming under pressure from both Fittipaldi and Yu Kanamaru (RP).

Fittipaldi, who started right behind Orudzhev, managed to get alongside him but was forced on the grass on the inside line, and had to back off.

Orudzhev then turned his attention to the outside where Kanamaru tried to make a move, but the two banged wheels, the latter going off track and dropping to eighth.

The incident was investigated, but no action was taken.

Orudzhev was under pressure in the following laps, but Fittipaldi didn't have to make a move in the end, as the Russian's car stopped on track on Lap 4, bringing out the safety car.

Nissany ran wide at the final turn on the restart, allowing Fittipaldi to attack him but the Lotus driver couldn't find a way past, despite looking to make a move in several different corners.

After withstanding the early pressure from Fittipaldi, Nissany built a gap of over a second, but Fittipaldi was soon all over him again.

However, Nissany did not make a mistake and crossed the line first with a lead of half a second, taking his first win of the season and closing the gap to points leader Rene Binder to four points.

Orudzhev's car failure gifted his SMP teammate Matevos Isaakyan the final podium spot, as the top three was separated by 1.4s.

Binder (Lotus) was fourth ahead of Nelson Mason (Teo Martin), who passed Alfonso Celis (Fortec) on the safety car restart and kept the Mexican at bay for the rest of the race.

Kanamaru settled for seventh, followed by Konstantin Tereshchenko (Teo Martin), Diego Menchaca (Fortec) and Giuseppe Cipriani (Barone Rampante).

RP Motorsport's Damiano Fioravanti was pulled into the pits before the formation lap and did not start the race.

Race results:

Pos. Driver TeamTime/Gap
 Roy Nissany RP Motorsport 42'24.972
 Pietro Fittipaldi Lotus 0.556
 Matevos Isaakyan SMP Racing by AVF 1.415
 Rene Binder Lotus 5.664
 Nelson Mason Teo Martin Motorsport 25.198
 Alfonso Celis Fortec Motorsports 25.318
 Yu Kanamaru RP Motorsport 25.948
 Konstantin Tereschenko Teo Martin Motorsport 31.429
 Diego Menchaca Fortec Motorsports 31.655
10   Giuseppe Cipriani Il Barone Rampante 59.252
Ret   Egor Orudzhev SMP Racing by AVF  
NS   Damiano Fioravanti RP Motorsport  
Jerez F3.5: Orudzhev grabs his first pole of 2017
Previous article

Jerez F3.5: Orudzhev grabs his first pole of 2017

Next article

Jerez F3.5: Fittipaldi dominates Sunday qualifying

Jerez F3.5: Fittipaldi dominates Sunday qualifying
Load comments