It is still wide open at Motorland Aragón

Kicking off last week at Monza, the 2014 Formula Renault 3.5 Series saw Will Stevens and Carlos Sainz Jr take victory.

Season 10 of the World Series by Renault begins on 26 and 27 April at Motorland Aragón. The event that has hosted more than 5 million spectators since debuting in 2005, retains the same proven formula with races for the Formula Renault 3.5 Series, Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 and Eurocup Clio, along with a multititude of attractions, including the demonstration runs from the four-time world championship team, Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1.

Kicking off last week at Monza, the 2014 Formula Renault 3.5 Series saw Will Stevens (Strakka Racing) and Carlos Sainz Jr (DAMS) take victory. The Englishman and Spaniard are not the only drivers aiming for the title. On equal points, Pierre Gasly (Arden Motorsport) will aim for more podium finishes and his first success in the headliner category of the World Series by Renault.

Carlos Sainz Jr.
Carlos Sainz Jr.

Photo by: Alessio Morgese

Like the 2013 victor in the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0, Sergey Sirotkin (Fortec Motorsports), Roberto Merhi (Zeta Corse), Nikolay Martsenko (Comtec Racing) and Oliver Rowland (Fortec Motorsports) all scored points in both races.

For the first time on the podium, Marlon Stöckinger (Lotus) would like to continue his progression, as would Luca Ghiotto (International Draco Racing) and William Buller (Arden Motorsport), both of whom took fourth place finishes at Monza. For the others Motorland Aragón will be the chance to rebound from disappointing results in Italy. At the sharp end of the time sheets during winter testing, Jazeman Jaafar (ISR) and Pietro Fantin (International Draco Racing) will try to make up their respective points deficits that separate them from the top of the classifications, as will Zoël Amberg (AVF), Meindert van Buuren (Pons Racing) and Matias Laine (Strakka Racing).

After dropping out twice at Monza, Marco Sørensen (Tech 1 Racing) wants to get back on form and score his maiden points of the season. A goal shared by Beitske Visser (AVF), Roman Mavlanov (Zeta Corse), as well as Frenchman Norman Nato (DAMS), the pole winner last year at Alcañiz, and Matthieu Vaxiviere (Lotus), who last year dominated the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 on the Spanish circuit.

Race 1: Saturday 26 April at 14h30
Race 2: Sunday 27 April at 14h00


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula V8 3.5
Drivers Carlos Sainz , Jazeman Jaafar , Will Stevens , Marlon Stockinger , Roberto Merhi , Marco Sorensen , Pietro Fantin , Matias Laine , Carlos Sainz Jr. , Zoel Amberg , Nikolay Martsenko , Matthieu Vaxiviere , Sergey Sirotkin , Norman Nato , Pierre Gasly , Oliver Rowland , Roman Mavlanov , Luca Ghiotto , Beitske Visser , Meindert van Buuren
Teams Red Bull Racing , Strakka Racing , DAMS
Article type Preview
Tags carlos sainz jr, motorland aragon, pierre gasly, will stevens, wsr