Formula 3.5 gets nine-round calendar as Monza, Paul Ricard and Catalunya return

Formula Renault 3.5's RPM-run successor is set for a nine-round season in 2016, with six events carried over from this season and three tracks making their return to the category.

The control of the provisionally-named "Formula 3.5" was taken over by Spanish promoters RPM after Renault confirmed it was withdrawing its support of the championship.

However, the new category will reunite with the two remaining championships of the World Series by Renault package for the season opener at Aragon, in support of the European Le Mans Series.

Retaining six venues from the 2015 FR3.5 series, the new championship will also visit Monza and Paul Ricard, which were on the FR3.5 calendar as recently as 2014, as well as Catalunya, which was dropped after 2013.

Six rounds will be run in support of either International GT Open or its single-seater feeder Euroformula Open, while the remaining outings will be held within the WTCC and Blancpain Endurance Series support packages.

The overall number of races, as such, could go up to 18 from a previous 17, with the customary standalone one-race Monaco round going to the Eurocup Formula Renault series instead.

Provisional 2016 calendar:

Date Venue Event
Apr 16-17 Aragon ELMS
Apr 23-24 Hungaroring* WTCC
May 21-22 Spa-Francorchamps GT Open
Jun 25-26 Paul Ricard* BES
Jul 23-24 Silverstone GT Open
Sep 10-11 Red Bull Ring* GT Open
Oct 1-2 Monza GT Open
Oct 29-30 Barcelona GT Open
Nov 5-6 Jerez EF Open

* - to be confirmed

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula V8 3.5
Article type Breaking news