Direction Russia

Inaugurated in June 2012 by the World Series by Renault, the Moscow Raceway has quickly become one of the highlight weekends of the Fast, Free & Fun event.

For the third meeting of the 2014 World Series by Renault season, the competitors head to the Moscow Raceway this coming June 28 and 29. Following a successful inauguration in 2012, the Russian circuit hosts the event proposed by Renault Sport Technologies for a third consecutive year. The drivers and teams will be accompanied by Red Bull driver Daniil Kvyat, who will star in the Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Show in front an enthusiastic home crowd.

Inaugurated in June 2012 by the World Series by Renault, the Moscow Raceway has quickly become one of the highlight weekends of the Fast, Free & Fun event. Several international championships have since followed the tendency in coming to Russia.

Sergey Sirotkin
Sergey Sirotkin

Photo by: Lucien Harmegnies

The Formula Renault 3.5 Series and Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 will share the billing with the Renault Sport Show and Jean Ragnotti Renault Classic Show demonstrations. The highlight of the weekend, Russian Daniil Kvyat, second in the 2012 Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 and now Formula 1 driver, will make his first appearance in the Infiniti Red Bull Racing F1 Show in front of his fans.

In the paddock, several attractions will let spectators get a close look at the Renault range of cars as well as the other activity centers in the new Renault Village, including the driving simulators and the Pit Stop Challenge. Children will be able to play in the bouncy castles and have workshops at their disposal.

Formula Renault 3.5 Series: the mid-way point of the season

The Russian meeting of the World Series by Renault will mark the mid-way point of the Formula Renault 3.5 Series season. After seven rounds, Carlos Sainz (DAMS) dominates the championship thanks to four victories. The Spaniard has a 43-point lead from fellow Red Bull Junior Team member, Pierre Gasly (Arden Motorsport),

The defending Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 champion and also a race winner in Russia last year, the Frenchman still has a chance to earn an F1 test that will be awarded to the championship leader after this round. The test will be held two weeks later at the Nurburgring during the next meeting of the World Series by Renault. The second overall position of the Arden Motorsport driver is all the same under threat by English drivers Oliver Rowland (Fortec Motorsports) and Will Stevens (Strakka Racing).

Further back, the gap is already pronounced. Monaco winner, Norman Nato (DAMS) is tied with third place finisher in the Principality and at Spa-Francorchamps, Jazeman Jaafar (ISR). Both will try to get back in contention at the technical Moscow track. Also seen on the podium at the start of the season, Roberto Merhi (Zeta Corse), Marlon Stockinger (Lotus) and Marco Sorensen (Tech 1 Racing) want to standout.

Two Russian drivers will compete. Sergey Sirotkin (Fortec Motorsports) will want to bounce back following a series of four retirements. For his part, Roman Mavlanov will try to break into the top 10 at the wheel of a car from the Russian Zeta Corse team.

For the others, the goal will be to score big points, like Zoel Amberg (AVF), Luca Ghiotto (International Draco Racing), Matias Laine (Strakka Racing), Oscar Tunjo (Pons Racing), Meindert van Buuren (Pons Racing), Beitske Visser (AVF) and William Buller (Arden Motorsport), who made his Formula Renault 3.5 Series debut here last year.

Race 1: Saturday 28 June at 14h30
Course 2: Sunday 29 June at 14h30

World Series by Renault

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula V8 3.5
Drivers Carlos Sainz , Jean Ragnotti , Jazeman Jaafar , Will Stevens , Marlon Stockinger , Roberto Merhi , Marco Sorensen , Matias Laine , Oscar Tunjo , Daniil Kvyat , Zoel Amberg , Sergey Sirotkin , Norman Nato , Pierre Gasly , Oliver Rowland , Roman Mavlanov , Luca Ghiotto , Beitske Visser , Meindert van Buuren
Teams Red Bull Racing , Strakka Racing , DAMS
Article type Preview
Tags daniil kvyat, luca ghiotto, matias laine, meindert van buuren, oscar tunjo, roman mavlanov, sergey sirotkin, wsr, zoël amberg