14 drivers already confirmed for the 2014 Formula Renault 3.5 Series

Season 10 of the Formula Renault 3.5 Series will kick off at Monza in April.

The 13 teams entered for the 2014 Formula Renault 3.5 Series are hard at work. 14 drivers are now confirmed less than two months before the start of the championship. Monza will have the honour to host the season opener for the 26 car grid on April 12.

Season 10 of the Formula Renault 3.5 Series will kick off at Monza in April. Eight teams have announced at least one of their drivers. The top three in the 2013 Teams championship, DAMS, Fortec Motorsports and International Draco Racing have completed their line-ups as has Strakka Racing and Lotus.

After taking Kevin Magnussen to the title last year, DAMS is wagering on another rising star, Carlos Sainz Jr. Following a nine race stint with Zeta Corse, the Red Bull Junior Team driver now has a full-season programme and clearly more serious ambitions. Norman Nato looks to benefit from the experienced gained in his first season with the French squad to continue his progression.

Carlos Sainz Jr.
Carlos Sainz Jr.

Photo by: DPPI

The new test driver for the Sauber F1 Team, Sergey Sirotkin will be at Fortec Motorsports. Ninth in 2013 with ISR, the Russian will clearly be among the front runners. Sirotkin will team with last year’s runner-up in the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0, Oliver Rowland who will still have the support of the Racing Steps Foundation.

Rowland will have another chance to battle with Pierre Gasly, who is making the most of the €500,000 awarded to the winner of the Eurocup to join Arden Motorsport. The “Equipe de France FFSA ”driver joins the prestigious Red Bull Junior Team. William Buller will be in the other Arden Motrsport entry and will run his first full season after a handful of outings with Zeta Corse in 2013.

Fourth in the championship last year, Will Stevens will be another title contender to keep an eye on. The Englishman, scored five podium results in 2013, and has opted for stability by staying at Strakka Racing. Without a doubt the experience gained will allow the Caterham Racing Academy protégé to be a standout right from the start of the season. Strakka Racing has also retained Finland’s Matias Laine for 2014.

Marlon Stockinger from the Philippines will take part in his second season with the Lotus F1 Junior Team in the Formula Renault 3.5 Series. Matthieu Vaxivière from the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 joins the ranks of the black and gold.

Jazeman Jaafar is another of the drivers confirmed for 2014. The Malaysian native has transferred from Carlin to ISR. Nikolay Martsenko joins Comtec Racing after a season at Pons Racing. Pietro Fantin has left Arden Motorsport for International Draco Racing, where he will join 2013 Formula Renault 2.0 ALPS runner-up and winner of last year’s Pau Grand Prix, Luca Ghiotto.

Before the first meeting of the season, the Formula Renault 3.5 will conduct two three-day tests in Spain: Motorland Aragón, February 25-27 and Jerez, March 24-26.

World Series by Renault

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula V8 3.5
Drivers Jazeman Jaafar , Will Stevens , Marlon Stockinger , Pietro Fantin , Matias Laine , Kevin Magnussen , Carlos Sainz Jr. , Nikolay Martsenko , Matthieu Vaxiviere , Sergey Sirotkin , Norman Nato , Pierre Gasly , Oliver Rowland , Luca Ghiotto
Teams Sauber , Strakka Racing , DAMS , Carlin , Lotus F1 Team
Article type Breaking news
Tags carlos sainz jr, kevin magnussen, luca ghiotto, nikolay martsenko, norman nato, pietro fantin, renault, sergey sirotkin, wsr