World Motor Sport Council notes 2010-009-08

At an extraordinary meeting of the World Motor Sport Council in Paris on 8 September 2010, the following decisions were taken: FORMULA ONE The 2011 Formula One World Championship calendar is confirmed as follows: 13/03 Bahrain 27/03 ...

At an extraordinary meeting of the World Motor Sport Council in Paris on 8 September 2010, the following decisions were taken:


The 2011 Formula One World Championship calendar is confirmed as follows:

13/03 Bahrain
27/03 Australia
10/04 Malaysia
17/04 China
08/05 Turkey
22/05 Spain
29/05 Monaco
12/06 Canada
26/06 Europe
10/07 Great Britain
24/07 Germany
31/07 Hungary
28/08 Belgium
11/09 Italy
25/09 Singapore
09/10 Japan
16/10 Korea
30/10 India*
13/11 Abu Dhabi
27/11 Brazil

* Subject to the homologation of the circuit

2011 new entries:

Following the press release of 19 March 2010 calling for expressions of interest to participate in the 2011 and 2012 seasons of the FIA Formula One World Championship, a number of interested parties expressed their interest. It was considered that none of the candidates met the requirements to be granted an entry into the Championship.

Consequently, the allocation of the 13th team will not be granted.


Commencing 2011 each World Rally Championship (WRC) event must include one special stage on the final day for the purpose of enhancing television coverage. The fastest drivers and co-drivers will be awarded additional points (3-2-1) in accordance with the general classification of this stage.

An FIA Production Car Cup for drivers of 2WD cars entered in the Production Car World Rally Championship (PWRC) will be introduced in 2011 to encourage competitors in Group R cars. At each round of the PWRC, a separate classification will be produced for the drivers of 2WD cars and points allocated according to the same scale as the Championship. The Production Car Cup will be awarded to the driver who has scored the highest number of points. As entrants in the PWRC, drivers of 2WD cars must nominate their events from a list and can score points in both the PWRC and Production Car Cup.

From 2011, cars eligible to contest the FIA Super 2000 World Rally Championship must have a normally aspirated engine with a cylinder capacity of less than 2000cc. There will be no FIA WRC Cup from 2011.

After the fourth event in the 2011 WRC calendar, Manufacturer and WRC Teams are permitted to use a maximum of two engines per car for the remaining nine events.

Commencing from 2011, all cars will start special stages at one-minute intervals, to increase interest for spectators.

From 2011, Priority 2 drivers who have contested more than two consecutive rounds of the World Rally Championship will be awarded Priority 1 status for the remainder of the season. These drivers must then comply with the regulations pertaining to WRC Teams.

A specialist group representing interested parties will review the possibility of introducing GT cars to WRC events.

The FIA in association with the WRC promoter will establish an Academy for young drivers.


Following the cancellation of the Durban event on 7 November 2010, a replacement event in Navarra, Spain will take place on 23-24 October 2010.

The notion of 'manufacturer' will be introduced into the Championship. In addition to the drivers and teams titles, a new title will be awarded in 2011.


The Super 2000 cars/ 2011 Appendix J, i.e. powered by 1.6 l turbo engine, are accepted in addition to Super 2000 cars, Diesel 2000 cars in conformity with 2010 Appendix J and so-called national cars.

The 2011 FIA World Touring Car Championship calendar is as follows:

20/03 Curitiba (BRA)
03/04 Buenos Aires (ARG)*
15/05 Monza (ITA)
05/06 Marrakech (MAR)*
19/06 Brno (CZE)
03/07 Porto (PRT)
17/07 Brands Hatch (GBR)*
31/07 Oschersleben (DEU)
04/09* Valencia (ESP)
23/10 Suzuka (JPN)
05/11 TBA (CHN)*
20/11 Macao (CHN)

*Subject to confirmation from the ASN.


The FIA, both in its motor sport and mobility roles, has a strong interest in promoting road safety. Competitors at FIA events must act as ambassadors for the sport, be aware their conduct on the road must be exemplary and respect road safety rules. A proposal to amend the international sporting code will be submitted to the FIA General Assembly to clarify that any holder of an International Super Licence must also be in possession of a current road driving licence. Additionally, the Code will be amended to clarify that if an International Super Licence holder is involved in a serious road traffic offence recognised by a national police authority, the FIA, depending on the severity of the case, may issue a warning or refer the matter to the International Disciplinary Tribunal, which may temporarily or indefinitely withdraw the competitor's International Super Licence.


The World Motor Sport Council will submit a proposal to the General Assembly that a specific licence is created for a restricted list of members of staff of the competitors entered in the FIA World Championships. The aim is to introduce a system that ensures they are subject to the criteria set out in a new FIA Code of Good Standing. This would apply to a minimum of six people per competitor, including the Team Principal, Sporting Director, Team Manager, Technical Director and two race engineers (or equivalent).

A new mechanism will be introduced to control access to areas under the jurisdiction of the FIA and no pass of any kind will be issued to any person or body who is not in good standing for the purposes of the FIA International Sporting Code. Entrants will also become responsible for their staff, meaning any person connected directly or indirectly with the entrant in connection with their participation in an event.

Sports Commissions
A comprehensive revision of the Sporting Commissions was approved ahead of upcoming World Motor Sport Council meetings and the Annual General Assembly, 3-5 November 2010.

Decade of Action for Road Safety
A working group will be formed to promote the objectives of the Decade of Action for Road Safety. This group will work in synergy with the sport and mobility pillars of the FIA.

-source: fia

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula 1 , WRC , WTCC , Blancpain Sprint