Vijay Mallya honoured in FMSCI Awards

Vijay Mallya honoured in FMSCI Awards
Darshan Chokhani
By: Darshan Chokhani
May 26, 2015, 3:54 AM

Force India team principal Vjay Mallya was awarded the 'Lifetime Achievement Award' for his contribution to motorsports by the Federation of Motorsport Sports Club of India (FMSCI).

Arjun Maini, Van Amersfoort Racing Dallara Volkswagen and Felix Rosenqvist, Prema Powerteam Dallara Mercedes-Benz
Arjun Maini, Van Amersfoort Racing
Dr. Vijay Mallya, Sahara Force India F1 Team Owner signs autographs for the fans
Gaurav Gill, MRF Tyres
Tarun Reddy
Karthik Tharani

India's only biker to have raced in the grueling Dakar Rally earlier this year - he finished 36th in the bike event - CS Santosh, was named 'Motorsport Man of the year' and received the Motorsport Man of the year with Raymond Gautam Singhania Rolling Trophy from Raymond's Managing Director Gautam Singhania himself.

Gautam is a car racer himself and had taken part in the Ferrari Challenge (Europe) earlier this year, where he finished on the podium.

BRDC F4 2014 runner-up and current European F3 racer Arjun Maini was awarded the 'Motorsport Star of the Future' award for his excellent run in the BRDC F4 championship.

Arjun had nine podium finishes which included four wins, five pole positions and six fastest laps in the 2014 F4 championship. Recently, Arjun was also recognised as a rising star in motorsports by the prestigious BRDC Clubhouse.

The FMSCI president R Bharath Raj during the event said, "We are happy and proud to be giving away these awards to the 2014 champions in Bangalore. We hope these champions go to international events and keep the Indian flag flying high."

"Motorsport activity is on the rise in India. We hope to get many other international events in India and also hope that the sport grows even more in the future," he added in the report on One India.

The champions from the 2014 season were duly awarded; rally driver Gaurav Gill was awarded for being the Indian Rally Champion driver. Current MSA Formula 4 racer Tarun Reddy was awarded for being the National Racing Champion (MRF 1600) while Vishnu Prasad was awarded for National Championship (JK FB02) and Karthik Tharani for VW Polo R Cup.

Next Formula 1 article
Honda: We still need more power

Previous article

Honda: We still need more power

Next article

Mercedes: All we can do is apologise

Mercedes: All we can do is apologise
Load comments

About this article

Series Formula 1
Teams Force India
Author Darshan Chokhani
Article type Breaking news