Three teams beat old McLaren pitstop record

Last year's record was beaten five times, even by it's holder - McLaren

Apr.3 (GMM) Red Bull claims it beat McLaren's all-time record for the fastest ever tyre pitstop during the recent Malaysian Grand Prix.

The reigning champions claim that, before the 'Multi-21' affair kicked off, Sebastian Vettel's first pitstop took the Red Bull mechanics just 2.13 seconds.

The previous record, McLaren's 2.31 seconds, has stood since Germany last year.

Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull Racing RB9 makes a pit stop
Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull Racing RB9 makes a pit stop

Photo by: XPB Images

But when Mark Webber came in for his second stop at Sepang, Red Bull stopped the clock at an incredible 2.05 seconds. In fact, the team says it beat McLaren's old record no fewer than five times in Malaysia.

"It's possible this season we'll see the magical two-second barrier breached at some point," Red Bull said in a media statement.

Germany's Auto Motor und Sport claims McLaren's best stop in Malaysia was 2.28 seconds -- just good enough to beat its old record.

Also under McLaren's old record in Malaysia was the Mercedes crew, who turned around Nico Rosberg in 2.29 seconds.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula 1
Drivers Mark Webber , Nico Rosberg , Sebastian Vettel
Teams Red Bull Racing , Mercedes , McLaren
Article type Breaking news
Tags mclaren, pitstop, record