Sir Frank Williams to receive Bernie Ecclestone Award

Founder of Williams Formula One team to receive it at Russian Grand Prix.

On the occasion of the first edition of Formula One Russia Grand Prix Alberto Bombassei, Brembo Chairman, and Bernie Ecclestone, Formula One Management Limited (FOM) Chairman, will assign ‘Bernie Ecclestone Award by Brembo 2014’ to Sir Frank Williams, Founder and currently Team Principal of Williams F1, to have contributed with personality and entrepreneurial capability to the history of Formula One, reaching prestigious results.

Sir Frank Williams represents a great figure in the history of Formula One: in 1966 he founded Frank Williams Racing Cars after a brief career as a driver and mechanic; in 1977, along with Engineer Patrick Head announced the establishment of Williams Grand Prix Engineering. Williams F1 team achieved 16 FIA Formula One World Championship, 9 in Constructors’ Championship and 7 in Drivers’ Championship, scoring 114 victories and 127 pole positions. On 2012 he decided to step down from the Board of Williams F1 team, replaced by his daughter Claire, while remaining with the team in the role of Team Principal.

Thanks to the award assigned to Sir Frank Williams, Brembo brings the award once again at more and more international level, contributing to further spread the culture and prestige of Formula One worldwide.

To be given at Sochi

The award, a Formula One braking system, will be assigned during a ceremony scheduled for Sunday 12 October at about h. 12.00 in the hospitality area of Formula One Management inside the paddock of Sochi circuit. Riccardo Cesarini, Performance Group Director – Brembo SpA, will attend the award ceremony too.

The international prize ‘Bernie Ecclestone Award by Brembo’ was born in 2011 to celebrate 50° anniversary of the Italian Company. In that occasion, Alberto Bombassei, Brembo Chairman, gave to Bernie Ecclestone a braking system personalized with the colour of the Italian flag. In 2012 the award was assigned to Luca Cordero di Montezemolo, Ferrari Spa Chairman, while last year the prize was conferred to Niki Lauda, non-executive Chairman of Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 team.

This artistic and symbolic trophy aims to reward the entrepreneurial, sporting, technical, artistic and moral merits of personalities who are distinguished in racing world, reaching excellent results and contributing to the growth of Formula One.

Following this idea, the Italian Company leader in the realization of braking systems, together with Formula One Management Limited (FOM) Chairman, has decided to continue year after year the award, with the aim to reconfirm this ambitious annual international goal.



Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula 1
Drivers Niki Lauda , Patrick Head , Frank Williams , Bernie Ecclestone
Teams Ferrari , Mercedes , Williams
Article type Breaking news
Tags bernie ecclestone, brembo