Rosberg to receive 2011 Bandini trophy in June


Nico Rosberg will be this year's winner of the prestigious Bandini trophy.

The Trofeo Lorenzo Bandini is an ongoing tribute to the leading Italian driver of his period, who was burned to death in an accident at Monaco in 1967.

Nico Rosberg, Mercedes GP Petronas F1 Team
Nico Rosberg, Mercedes GP Petronas F1 Team

The last three winners were the highly rated Lewis Hamilton (2010), Sebastian Vettel (2009) and Robert Kubica (2008).

Organisers confirmed that Mercedes driver Rosberg will receive the trophy in Bandini's hometown of Brisighella, which is close to Toro Rosso's Italian headquarters, on June 5.

And according to Auto Sprint magazine in Italy, it is possible Rosberg will drive the 12 kilometres between Faenza and Brisighella in a Mercedes F1 car, or possibly the F1 safety car.

Other Bandini winners include Felipe Massa (2007), Mark Webber (2006), Fernando Alonso (2005), Michael Schumacher (2003), Jenson Button (2001) and Jarno Trulli (2000).

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula 1
Drivers Jarno Trulli , Jenson Button , Michael Schumacher , Mark Webber , Fernando Alonso , Lewis Hamilton , Felipe Massa , Nico Rosberg , Robert Kubica , Sebastian Vettel
Teams Mercedes , Toro Rosso
Tags bandini trophy, mercedes, rosberg