Ricciardo wins sporting breakthrough prize

Red Bull driver Daniel Ricciardo was awarded with the “Breakthrough of the Year” prize at the Laureus World Sports Awards, following his three Formula 1 wins last season.

The Australian was the only driver to break the Mercedes stranglehold on the top step of the F1 podium in 2014, putting his more illustrious teammate Sebastian Vettel firmly in the shade with grand prix victories at Montreal, the Hungaroring and Spa.

Those achievements meant that Ricciardo was shortlisted for the award alongside footballers James Rodriguez and Mario Gotze, US Open tennis champion Marin Cilic, the Swiss Davis Cup team and alpine skier Mikaela Shiffrin, duly scooping honours at Wednesday’s prize-giving ceremony in China.

Ricciardo became the fourth F1 driver to win the prize, following on from Juan Pablo Montoya, Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button.

2014 world champion Hamilton had been shortlisted for the main “Sportsman of the Year” award, but lost out to tennis star Novak Djokovic.

The Briton had already revealed during the Chinese Grand Prix weekend that he had not been chosen as the winner however, saying: "Unfortunately I'm not too excited, because I know I haven't won it.”


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula 1
Drivers Juan Pablo Montoya
Teams Red Bull Racing
Article type Breaking news