Hospitality Committee Formed for USGP at Indianapolis

INDIANAPOLIS -- As the Indianapolis Motor Speedway (IMS) finalizes the addition of a road course to the infield of its famed 2.5 mile oval to accommodate Formula One (F1) racing, city leaders have formed an effort to attract and welcome visitors...

INDIANAPOLIS -- As the Indianapolis Motor Speedway (IMS) finalizes the addition of a road course to the infield of its famed 2.5 mile oval to accommodate Formula One (F1) racing, city leaders have formed an effort to attract and welcome visitors heading for Indy for the inaugural United States Grand Prix set for September 24, 2000. Tony George, President and CEO for IMS, and Jim Morris, Chairman and CEO of the Indianapolis Water Company Resources Corporation, will co-chair the newly formed United States Grand Prix Hospitality Committee. The committee (see attached list) consists of some of Indianapolis' most well known and respected corporate and civic leaders.

"This is an extraordinary opportunity to showcase Indianapolis on the international stage," said Morris. "We are extremely appreciative of the Hulman-George Family for this impressive sports venue. The Indianapolis Motor Speedway will now host the three largest single-day sporting events in the world bolstering our image and pride even more as the 'Racing Capital of the World.'"

George added, "As corporate leaders and international guests come to Indianapolis for the United States Grand Prix, we have the chance to define our city in new ways." George pointed out that over 500 international media representatives are expected to attend the United States Grand Prix providing television and radio coverage in 50+ countries. "Indianapolis has made its mark hosting national sporting events with exceptional hospitality," said George. "Now we will be an international host and extend that reputation across the world."

The work of the United States Grand Prix Hospitality Committee is being coordinated by a team approach between the Indianapolis Motor Speedway (IMS) and the Indianapolis Convention & Visitors Association (ICVA). The ICVA and IMS have retained Ad Ventures in Hospitality & Marketing to provide professional assistance. Florence May, Vice President of Marketing for Ad Ventures will serve as Hospitality Coordinator. May will lend her expertise in coordinating volunteer efforts to

- Raise community awareness & enthusiasm for the United States Grand Prix. - Welcome the teams, race fans, VIPs and sponsors to Indianapolis. - Make the travel experience user friendly for our international guests. - Ensure international services are readily available and accessible.

Morris, who also serves as Chairman of the Board for the ICVA, challenged his business and civic peers to "carry the torch" for local hospitality and assist with planning. Committee members were asked to help provide volunteers, refer multilingual individuals to serve as United States Grand Prix Ambassadors, host language and local hospitality programs, participate in the corporate beautification program, provide vendor resource information and consider financial support for the local hospitality program.

"It's an exciting time for Indianapolis," said Wm. K. McGowan, President and CEO of the ICVA. "We enthusiastically welcome Formula One racing and its fans and we all look forward to learning more about the uniqueness of F1 racing and celebrating its impact on our community. McGowan was quick to point out that having corporate interests behind this new event for the city should heighten image and opportunities for all. "I am thrilled at the response from our business leaders and know that Indianapolis will once again shine for the world to see this September."

UNITED STATES GRAND PRIX HOSPITALITY COMMITTEE Name Title Address Senator Evan Bayh Honorary 1650 Market Tower Senator Richard Lugar Honorary 1180 Market Tower Rep. Dan Burton Honorary 8900 Keystone at the Crossing Rep. Julia Carson Honorary 300 East Fall Creek Parkway, Suite 200 Governor Frank O'Bannon Honorary 206 State House Lt. Governor Joe Kernan Honorary 333 State House Mayor Bart Peterson Honorary 2501 City-County Building Tony George President & CEO/Co-Chair Indianapolis Motor Speedway Jim Morris Chairman & CEO/Co-Chair IWC Resources Mike Alley President & CEO Fifth Third Bank Cathy Cregor Blitzer Executive Director International Center of Indianapolis Phil Borst City-County Councilman Shelby Street Animal Clinic Mel Carraway Superintendent Indiana State Police Pamela Carter Vice President & General Counsel Cummins Engine Company, Inc. Jim Cornelius Chairman Guidant Corporation Bill Crawford State Representative Christel DeHaan President & Founder Christel DeHaan Family Foundation Jim Dora Chairman & CEO General Hotels Corporation Dale Duncan President & Publisher Indianapolis Newspapers, Inc. Margot Eccles Vice President of Public Relations LDI Charlotte Fisher Chairman, President & CEO Paul Harris Stores Randy Foxworthy Executive Vice President, Corporate Development John Goss Director Indiana Division of Tourism Jonathan Hess Executive Vice President Browning, Day, Mullins, Dierdorf Stephen Hilbert Chairman, President & CEO Conseco, Inc. Karen Horseman City-County Councilor Michael Hudson President, CEO & COO Rolls-Royce Allison Tom King Mgr. of Company Corporate Affairs Eli Lilly and Company Bob Laikin President Brightpoint, Inc. Don Marsh Chairman & CEO Marsh Supermarkets Bill McGowan President & CEO Indianapolis Convention & Visitors Assoc. Jim Merritt Vice President Ross & Babcock Travel George Mikelsons Chairman ATA Sam Odle Senior Vice President & COO Clarian Health Partners Ron Pearson President & Chief Creative Officer Pearson, Crahan, Fletcher & England Larry Prible President & CEO Indianapolis Life Insurance Company Mark Richards Attorney Ice, Miller, Donadio & Ryan David Roberts President BAA Indianapolis, LLC Jerry Semler Chairman, President & CEO American United Life Insurance Co. Joseph Slash Vice President Community and Corp. Effectiveness IPALCO Bill Shrewsberry Deputy Mayor 2501 City-County Building Al Smith Managing Director, Investment Management Group Bank One Indiana Jeff Smulyan Chairman & CEO Emmis Communications Corp. Jack Snyder Attorney Ice, Miller, Donadio & Ryan Jack Swarbrick President JB Sports Todd Stuart Vice President Stuart's Moving & Storage Sidney Taurel Chairman, CEO & President Eli Lilly and Company Brian Wiggins Partner, Business Consulting Arthur Andersen Rev. Charles Williams President & CEO Indiana Black Expo Tamara Zahn President Indianapolis Downtown, Inc.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula 1
Drivers Tony George , John Goss , Tom King , David Roberts , Jim Morris
Teams Williams