Hamilton beats Vettel to Bahrain GP pole

Lewis Hamilton secured his fourth consecutive Formula 1 pole position as he beat Ferrari driver Sebastian Vettel to first place in Bahrain Grand Prix qualifying.

It was the Briton's first pole in Bahrain, and it put an end to Nico Rosberg's streak at Sakhir, the German having taken pole for the past two years.

Hamilton was the last of the drivers to cross the finish line, and stole pole from Vettel, who finished over four tenths of a second behind the world champion.

Rosberg had a disappointing session and will start from third place after finishing half a second behind his teammate.

Kimi Raikkonen completed a strong day for Ferrari with fourth place ahead of the Williams of Valtteri Bottas, who outqualified teammate Felipe Massa.

Daniel Ricciardo finished in seventh position ahead of Force India's Nico Hulkenberg.

Carlos Sainz was the best of the Toro Rosso drivers in ninth, with Romain Grosjean completing the top 10 for Lotus.

Sergio Perez qualified in 11th for Force India, the Mexican outpacing Felipe Nasr and Marcus Ericsson as Sauber failed to have a car in the top 10 for the first time in 2015.

Fernando Alonso and McLaren made it into Q2 for the first time this year, the Spaniard putting on a promising showing to qualify in 14th position ahead of the second Toro Rosso of Max Verstappen.

Pastor Maldonado failed to reach Q2 after his Lotus suffered engine problems, the Venezuelan qualifying in 16th position ahead of the Red Bull of Daniil Kvyat, who endured another difficult day in the Renault-powered car.

Will Stevens was the quickest Manor driver again, but three seconds behind Kvyat. Teammate Roberto Merhi qualified 19th, over a second behind, with a time that would have put him seventh on the GP2 grid.

Jenson Button's nightmare weekend continued following the problems he had during the Friday practice sessions, the Briton's Honda-powered car coming to a halt in Q1 before he could even set a time.

The Briton said there was a power cut, his car switching off completely.

Button, who was using the soft tyres right from the start of the session, will start from the back of the grid.

Pos  Driver   Car / Engine   Time   Gap
Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1'32.571  
Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1'32.982 0.411
Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1'33.129 0.558
Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1'33.227 0.656
Valtteri Bottas Williams/Mercedes 1'33.381 0.810
Felipe Massa Williams/Mercedes 1'33.744 1.173
Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull/Renault 1'33.832 1.261
Nico Hulkenberg Force India/Mercedes 1'34.450 1.879
Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso/Renault 1'34.462 1.891
10  Romain Grosjean Lotus/Mercedes 1'34.484 1.913
11  Sergio Perez Force India/Mercedes 1'34.704 2.133
12  Felipe Nasr Sauber/Ferrari 1'34.737 2.166
13  Marcus Ericsson Sauber/Ferrari 1'35.034 2.463
14  Fernando Alonso McLaren/Honda 1'35.039 2.468
15  Max Verstappen Toro Rosso/Renault 1'35.103 2.532
16  Pastor Maldonado Lotus/Mercedes 1'35.677 3.106
17  Daniil Kvyat Red Bull/Renault 1'35.800 3.229
18  Will Stevens Marussia/Ferrari 1'38.713 6.142
19  Roberto Merhi Marussia/Ferrari 1'39.722 7.151
20  Jenson Button McLaren/Honda   -
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula 1
Event Bahrain GP
Track Bahrain International Circuit
Drivers Jenson Button , Kimi Raikkonen , Fernando Alonso , Lewis Hamilton , Felipe Massa , Carlos Sainz , Nico Rosberg , Pastor Maldonado , Sebastian Vettel , Nico Hulkenberg , Sergio Perez , Romain Grosjean , Daniel Ricciardo , Marcus Ericsson , Will Stevens , Roberto Merhi , Valtteri Bottas , Felipe Nasr , Daniil Kvyat , Max Verstappen
Article type Qualifying report