FIA confirms start times for upcoming F1 season

The FIA has unveiled the start times for all sessions of the 21-race 2016 Formula 1 season.

Despite a number of date changes in the calendar compared to last year, the start times for most of the Grand Prix will remain unchanged with a notable exception in the case of Sochi.

The Russian GP, which has been moved from October to May, will be starting an hour later than it had in 2015, allowing it to align with a 12PM GMT time-slot for the next two rounds in Spain and Monaco.

The returning German GP, meanwhile, will also start at 12PM GMT.

As previously reported, qualifying for the new European Grand Prix in Baku will indeed clash with the start of the 2016 Le Mans 24 Hours. The grand prix itself is scheduled to begin at the very time that the world's most prestigious endurance race is set to end.

The Baku race will kick off at 6PM local time, just a little over three hours before the sunset in the capital of Azerbaijan.

Date Race Local Time GMT
March 20  Australian Grand Prix 16:00 05:00
April 3 Bahrain Grand Prix 18:00 15:00
April 17 Chinese Grand Prix 14:00 06:00
May 1 Russian Grand Prix 15:00 12:00
May 15 Spanish Grand Prix 14:00 12:00
May 29 Monaco Grand Prix 14:00 12:00
June 12 Canadian Grand Prix 14:00 18:00
June 19 European Grand Prix 18:00 13:00
July 3 Austrian Grand Prix 14:00 12:00
July 10 British Grand Prix 13:00 12:00
July 24 Hungarian Grand Prix 14:00 12:00
July 31 German Grand Prix 14:00 12:00
August 28 Belgian Grand Prix 14:00 12:00
September 4 Italian Grand Prix 14:00 12:00
September 18 Singapore Grand Prix 20:00 12:00
October 2 Malaysian Grand Prix 15:00 07:00
October 9 Japanese Grand Prix 14:00 05:00
October 23 United States Grand Prix 14:00 19:00
October 30 Mexican Grand Prix 13:00 19:00
November 13 Brazilian Grand Prix 14:00 16:00
November 27 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix 17:00 13:00


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula 1
Article type Breaking news