Formula 1
Formula 1
29 Aug
-
01 Sep
Event finished
05 Sep
-
08 Sep
Event finished
19 Sep
-
22 Sep
Event finished
26 Sep
-
29 Sep
Event finished
10 Oct
-
13 Oct
Event finished

Kobayashi's sports helmet design by Linkin Park on auction for Japan aid

shares
comments
Kobayashi's sports helmet design by Linkin Park on auction for Japan aid
Nov 24, 2011, 8:42 PM

Global Motorsport Media

ONLINE AUCTION OF ONE-OFF HELMET TO BOOST JAPANESE AID FROM MUSIC FOR RELIEF


Sauber F1 Team driver Kamui Kobayashi will be lining up on the Sao Paulo grid for the FIA Formula One World Championship final wearing a special helmet design in a good cause. An encounter with rock band Linkin Park in Singapore sparked the idea for a helmet auction to support aid for Japan through the internationally renowned charity organisation Music for Relief, initiated by Linkin Park.

Kamui Kobayashi, Sauber F1 Team
Kamui Kobayashi, Sauber F1 Team

Photo by: xpb.cc

Since 2005, Music for Relief has raised more than five million US dollars for disaster victims and environmental projects. Of this, 700,000 dollars alone has been donated to Japan to help it deal with the consequences of the disasters that struck on 11th March this year.

Joe Hahn, producer and band member of Linkin Park, personally designed the unique helmet for Kamui Kobayashi. As the Japanese driver explains: "I've long been a fan of Linkin Park. I love their music and I'm impressed by the band's social commitment. I was thrilled to meet the musicians personally in the paddock when they were giving a concert at the Singapore Grand Prix.

We've been in touch since then and I'm really pleased that Joe Hahn has designed a helmet for me. I hope that we will be able to raise a lot of money for Music for Relief to help rebuild my country."

I hope that we will be able to raise a lot of money for Music for Relief

Kamui Kobayashi

Joe Hahn comments: "This was a fun opportunity to create something for Kamui while continuing our efforts to raise funds for Japan."

In Singapore, the band members were Paddock Club guests of the Good Smile Company, a personal sponsor of Kamui Kobayashi. The helmet - worth 3,500 euros even without its unique design - was provided by Arai Helmet Ltd.

The online auction opens this Thursday (09.00 hrs in Los Angeles/15.00 Sao Paulo/18.00 CET) at: http://bit.ly/kamuihelmet It ends on Monday, 19th December 2011 (14.00 hrs in Los Angeles/23.00 CET)

Next article
Manager slams Renault claim Kubica not ready for 2012

Previous article

Manager slams Renault claim Kubica not ready for 2012

Next article

Jan Charouz to make F1 debut with HRT in FP1 at the Brazilian Grand Prix

Jan Charouz to make F1 debut with HRT in FP1 at the Brazilian Grand Prix
Load comments

About this article

Series Formula 1
Drivers Kamui Kobayashi
Teams Sauber