Chinese GP: 10 previous winners of the race

Check out the last 10 race winners, polesitters and fastest lap setters from the Chinese Grand Prix.

The Formula 1 circus has arrived in China, where the drivers and teams face one of their toughest challenges of the season in optimizing their cars courtesy of the tricky corner combinations of the Shanghai International Circuit.

The 3.387-mile circuit has its place in F1 history assured thanks to being the scene of seven-time champion Michael Schumacher's 91st and final victory back in 2006. Two other World Champions, in the form of Fernando Alonso and Kimi Raikkonen, have also taken wins for Ferrari during the last decade.

Despite his infamous trip to the gravel in 2007, the driver with the best record at Shanghai is current title holder Lewis Hamilton, who claimed two victories with McLaren before notching up a further success for Mercedes in last year's race.

The circuit also holds happy memories for Nico Rosberg, as the German took his maiden Grand Prix triumph in China in 2012, as well as the first win in modern times for the Silver Arrows.

Shanghai was also the scene of Red Bull's first ever F1 win in 2009, although the Milton Keynes-based team have failed to win there since despite Sebastian Vettel taking a further two pole positions.

Year Driver Team Pole position Fastest lap
2014 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Lewis Hamilton Nico Rosberg 1'40.402
2013 Fernando Alonso Ferrari Lewis Hamilton Sebastian Vettel 1'36.808
2012 Nico Rosberg Mercedes Nico Rosberg Kamui Kobayashi 1'39.960
2011 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes Sebastian Vettel Mark Webber 1'38.993
2010 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes Sebastian Vettel Lewis Hamilton 1'42.061
2009 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault Sebastian Vettel Rubens Barrichello 1'52.592
2008 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes Lewis Hamilton Lewis Hamilton 1'36.325
2007 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari Lewis Hamilton Felipe Massa 1'37.454
2006 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Fernando Alonso Fernando Alonso 1'37.586
2005 Fernando Alonso Renault Fernando Alonso Kimi Raikkonen 1'33.242

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula 1
Event Chinese GP
Track Shanghai International Circuit
Drivers Jenson Button , Michael Schumacher , Rubens Barrichello , Mark Webber , Kimi Raikkonen , Fernando Alonso , Lewis Hamilton , Felipe Massa , Nico Rosberg , Sebastian Vettel , Kamui Kobayashi
Teams Red Bull Racing , Mercedes , Brawn GP , Ferrari , Renault F1 Team
Article type Special feature