CHAMPCAR/CART: Granja Viana 500 Miles race report

A late victory for Barrichello in the Granja Viana 500 Miles Rubens Barrichello& ...

A late victory for Barrichello in the Granja Viana 500 Miles

Rubens Barrichello’s year won’t end in white clouds anymore. Under mixed weather conditions, his kart race team Tic Tac won the 5th edition of the Granja Viana 500 Miles this Sunday, beating a handful of outstanding Brazilian international drivers, such as Enrique Bernoldi, Ricardo Zonta, Felipe Giaffone, Antonio Pizzonia and Ricardo Maurício. Once more along with Formula CART ace Tony Kanaan, but for the first time sharing the garage with Formula 3000 regular Mário Haberfeld, the Ferrari driver shone in the wet and played a capital role in the race.

IRL rookie of the year Felipe Giaffone took the lead in the early stages right after midnight, but his team mates Ricardo Rosset and Flávio Andrade were unable to match his pace and they eventually dropped down. By the middle of the race it seemed crystal clear that only the Texaco Marlia boys, Chico Serra, his son Daniel and Rafael Daniel, could try to avoid the second Barrichello’s victory in a row.

But the rain came down and Barrichello made the difference, feeling as at home as a duck in the lake. “He was absolutely superb in the slippery track and, I must agree, was the man behind our strategy”, Kanaan paid tribute to his long time friend. When the chequered was shown to Kanaan, the man in charge of the ultimate leg, they had a respectable advantage of eight laps over the rest . Fifty-eight karts took part of the event, setting a new entry record for the event. After spending an exhaustive weekend away from his family, Barrichello was only dreaming about coming back home. “I want to go to bed and to sleep the rest of the day, but I know that my forty-day old baby Eduardo has other plans for me”.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula 1 , F3000 , IndyCar , Kart
Drivers Antonio Pizzonia , Enrique Bernoldi , Rubens Barrichello , Ricardo Zonta , Mario Haberfeld , Felipe Giaffone , Tony Kanaan , Ricardo Maurício , Ricardo Rosset , Chico Serra , Rafael Daniel
Teams Ferrari